Seven Coloured Compass

Beneath the starry sky, we'll meet once again.

Full Moon wo Sagashite

Leave a comment

Now that I’ve got my La Corda d’Oro fangirling out of the way, I can finally concentrate on this post!

Name: Full Moon wo Sagashite

Japanese Name: 満月をさがして

Air Date: April 6 2002 – March 29 2003

Studio: Studio DEEN

Episodes: 52

PLOT

12 year old Mitsuki Kouyama was devastated when she was diagnosed with a malignant tumor of the throat. She had made a promise to the boy she loves that she would one day become a singer, but her illness made singing impossible. To make matters even worse, two angels of death (shinigami), Takuto and Meroko, appeared to Mitsuki and informed her that she only had one year left to live. This news provides an even greater motivation for Mitsuki to fulfill her dreams, and with a little bit of divine intervention, she begins her quest to become a professional singer so she can be reunited with Eichi before time runs out.

[via ANN]

I don’t know what made me watch this series but I think it was after I read the manga. Or just on a whim.

First Impressions

This series is going to have a lot of complications and misunderstandings. Since I read that from the manga, that’s what I thought at first. I adore the shinigami though…NEGI RAMEN xD

Meroko’s really adorable when she’s in bunny form and Takuto…looks podgy but he’s still cuute! (๑´ლ`๑)

Midway Impressions

The voice actor for Mitsuki is really talented! Her singing voice sounds a bit mature though for a character who’s 12 years old which kind of bothered me but at the same time, her voice really suited the songs she sung which were too depressing for my taste.

Takuto is an awesome shinigami. He’s so honest and straightforward too! Bless Takuto, you’re such a cute kitty cat (๑´ლ`๑) be my cat Takuto! We can spend everyday together ❤

Overall Opinion

This series had so much drama in it that it was unbelievable. While the characters were appealing and the plot was okay, everything just didn’t fit together in a way.

I was really disappointed how the plot of the anime differed from the original manga. When I watched Full Moon, I thought about why the plots varied so I did some of my research as per usual and found out that the mangaka, Arina Tanemura, was not informed about most changes in the anime adaption. In fact, Arina didn’t think that there would be an adaption. That’s not fair on her account, she’s the one who created the series!

Putting the bad points aside, I liked how they developed the relationships between the characters especially Mitsuki’s and Takuto’s. I could see Takuto’s developing feelings for Mitsuki which was so adorable! It was sweet but not too obvious. If the director made it too obvious then I doubt anyone would watch it, where’s the suspense and drama in that?

If you want a series that’s suitable for girls and has a lot of drama then I would suggest this to you.

Don’t watch this! I’m begging you!

To be honest, I would never watch this series again because I personally think that Studio DEEN ruined a good shoujo series.

Leave a Reply

