Seven Coloured Compass

Beneath the starry sky, we'll meet once again.

Mobile Suit Gundam 00 Second Season

Leave a comment

Here comes season 2!

Name: Mobile Suit Gundam 00

Japanese Name: 機動戦士ガンダム00

Air Date: October 5 2008 – March 29 2009

Studio: Sunrise

Episodes: 25

PLOT

Four years have passed since the final battle between Celestial Being and the UN Forces. Humanity, having established the Earth Sphere Federation, forms an independent security preservation force, A-Laws, separate from the formal Federation army to further unify nations and the will of mankind. But the reality was the inhumane oppression of misuse of powers, doctrines, and ideologies in the name of unity.

Saji Crossroad has followed the path to becoming a space engineer to keep his promise to Louise Halevy, who in turn was compelled to become involved in Federation government reform and joined A-Laws as a mobile suit pilot during the four-year gap.

Meanwhile, Setsuna F. Seiei, having survived the climatic battle four years ago, witnessed a change in the world due to the actions of Celestial Being. With the defeat of Alejandro Corner, he dreamed of a peaceful world without conflict; but before his own eyes was the reality of the continuing strain on peace, the oppression caused by A-Laws. He decides once more to fight with Gundam, the power with the potential to change the world.

[via Wikipedia]

Now I was really excited about this because of the climax in the first season so I had high expectations for season 2!

First Impressions

The characters look more grown up so it was nice to see that Sunrise changed their appearances due to the four year age gap. Setsuna has a more adult like appearance and Sunrise made his face/body build more refined than his smaller build in season 1. I literally fangirled so much when he appeared on my computer screen…SETSUNA YOU SEXY BEAST (((o(*゚▽゚*)o)))

When did you get so hot?

Putting Setsuna on the sidelines for now, season 2 started off with a rescue mission. Setsuna saves Saji…a knight in shining armour! Sounds weird when a guy saves another guy right? A knight saving a…damsel in distress? S-sorry! Wrong phrase xD those machines were horrible! Killing people without mercy, that’s just cruel and heartless. Anyone have a machine gun? I wanna destroy those suckers!

Midway Impressions

Still amazing. I will never grow tired of watching Gundam and Haro is still as adorable as always (*´ω`*) but Lyle is a jerk in my opinion, he’s such a player. I felt really bad for Feldt who had feelings for the previous Lockon so most of the time I was going ( ಠ_ಠ ) whenever Lyle popped up on my screen. GO AWAY YOU PLAYER! I HATE YOU!!

I-I like Tieria now. He actually has feelings and knows what compassion is \(^o^)/and he still has his serious side (which I think shows his appeal to me!)…WHOO! xD his voice is rather sexy too…I feel guilty for never liking him in season 1. Well, I like you now Tieria! Please accept me! His purple hair is quite unique as well, I dyed my hair purple once…massive fail.

Saji Crossroad, why are you being so difficult?! Oh dear, I sound like his mother! Just accept the fact that Setsuna is in Celestial Being and they’re trying to save the world…yes, your home planet! Join the cause, fight for your home and loved ones! Celestial being wants YOU to join them.

My favourite Gundam has to be the Cherudim. A sniper is pretty cool but Lyle is not as awesome as Neil. No one can replace the legendary Neil Dylandy – the previous Lockon Stratos. Now if Veda – Celestial Being’s super computer -chose me to be a Gundam Meister, I would accept straight away…I want my own Gundam!

Overall Opinion

Season 2 was as mindblowing as it’s predecessor, I feel as though my world is complete thanks to this \(^o^)/

The plot was more serious than the first season mainly because Celestial Being had to deal with the newly formed Earth Sphere Federation, the notorious A-Laws and the group working behind the shadows, the Innovators lead by Ribbons Almark. Season 2 was more heavy and had more depth as it reveals in more detail about Setsuna’s past and how he became a Gundam Meister. Relationships between characters have either grown stronger, new bonds have formed or bonds were broken. Everything was done at the right pace but it also creates questions which are answered at the end of season 2.

The battle sequences were still as eye catching as the first season but had more intensity since season 2 had a more serious tone (not that the first season didn’t). The GN particles coming out of the Gundams were so pretty. It was like glitter in a way!

There were times when there was the odd funny moment, what really made me laugh was when Tieria appeared as a woman and danced with Ribbons at a dance party プッ(※థэథ)∵.*.∵

Tieria…stop consorting with the enemy!

I was pretty impressed with season 2! It followed the first season well and the animation was amazing as usual which was no surprise.

My love for Setsuna has increased rapidly. It was really surprising when Ribbons revealed how Setsuna became a Meister. I felt hatred and resentment towards Ribbons but I can’t hate the man, he shares the same voice actor as Amuro Ray in the first Mobile Suit Gundam series O_O Allelujah has matured! He’s not as dependent on Hallelujah which is such a relief because I really adore this character o(^▽^)o thankyou Sunrise for making a certain anime fan happy!

I’m glad that Lyle killed Ali Al Saachez. That man blooming deserved it after what he did to the previous Lockon. REVENGE!!!

And Setsuna becomes an InnovatorO_o everything happens to this dude I swear.

Finally…Graham Aker is Mister Bushido! After the last battle from the first season, Graham’s face was scarred and he was forced to wear a mask. From then on he took on the persona Mister Bushido. He’s also got a pass which lets him do whatever he wants on the battlefield. Talk about lucky!

Definitely watch this if you are an avid Gundam fan, it is one of the best Gundam series released! Hmm, I wonder which series should I review next? Maybe Fruits Basket or Special A?

Leave a Reply

