Seven Coloured Compass

Beneath the starry sky, we'll meet once again.

Mobile Suit Gundam 00 First Season

Leave a comment

I started watching this in 2010 around when the movie came out. This was the first mecha and Gundam series I ever watched so I’m going to do a review on it. My first post on Gundam 00 will be the first season and then on my next post I will do season 2.

Name: Mobile Suit Gundam 00

Japanese Name: 機動戦士ガンダム00

Air Date: October 6 2007 – March 29 2008

Studio: Sunrise

Episodes: 25

PLOT

“Rebirth begins through destruction”

It is the year A.D. 2307. Fossil fuels on Earth have been depleted entirely, with mankind turning to the next available power source: solar energy. During this time, 3 orbital elevators with solar power generation systems are built, each under control by the Union (formerly United States of America), the Human Reformist Alliance (Russia, China and India) and the AEU (Europe). However, not all countries are able to enjoy the benefits of this system, leading to widespread resentment and war. Arising out of the conflict, a mysterious non-profit military organization known as Celestial Being appears, dedicated to end all warfare using Mobile Suits called Gundam. This begins the stories of the Gundam Meisters Setsuna F. Seiei, Lockon Stratos, Allelujah Haptism and Tieria Erde as they are thrown into conflict between the 3 superpowers and the other various factions.

[via ANN]

I heard many reviews about this series and most of them were positive so I thought “maybe I should try watching mecha since it’s a popular genre”. I’m glad I decided to watch a Gundam series though since it is the best mecha franchise around!

And also…MAMORU MIYANO PLAYS SETSUNA F. SEIEI! Fangirl mood is switched on *・゜゚・*:.。..。.:*・’(*゚▽゚*)’・*:.。. .。.:*・゜゚・*

Setsuna F. Seiei…Celestial Being, Gundam Meister.

First Impressions

Since this series is about the eradication of war etc, I first thought that there was going to be a lot of propaganda.

Also, I knew that there were going to be losses of friends and loved ones that tie in with the plot line as they are fighting in a war. I was hoping that the director and producers wouldn’t kill off any major characters otherwise I would give up on watching this.

The character designs caught my attention. They were eye catching and well drawn so naturally I just had to watch this series. Gundam is a cool name too. Whoever thought of that name is a genius!

Midway Impressions

I read online that Haro is the mascot of the Gundam franchise so I was really happy to see Lockon carrying around a Haro \(^o^)/

Haro is so adorable and funny at the same time (*´ω`*) I want a Haro now, maybe I can make one? xD

Lockon is pretty hot and he’s voiced by a veteran voice actor too which makes him even hotter! He’s such a great leader who never rushes into things, basically he’s got all the qualities of a leader – so my love for Lockon is shooting through the roof at the moment! Kyaaa ~Lockon, marry me? (๑´ლ`๑)


Lockon Stratos…target and firing!

Tieria is just a killjoy ( ಠ_ಠ ) and he’s so strict! I don’t want to work with him…ever. Let loose already, have some fun – but that seems impossible! He’s a workaholic. End of story.

Allelujah is really sweet, he’s so gentle and values everyone’s lives. He’s not a cold blooded killer unlike Hallelujah, his other personality. Hallelujah creeped me out like hell! Every time I saw or heard him, I would run away screaming (not literally)! I’ve noticed that Allelujah is really dependent on Hallelujah when it comes to surviving in the battlefield. I hope he’ll grow into an individual though because I adore him ❤

Yuuichi Nakamura plays Graham AkerO_o I didn’t notice until my brother told me! Now I’m happily squealing away! He’s such an awesome character and he deserves to be an ace pilot…you go Graham!

Katsuyuki Konishi portrays the eldest Trinity sibling, Johan Trinity. He’s really hot but he has to deal with Nena…she winds me up! Sometimes I get the urge to slap the girl and I have to try so hard to restrain myself hoping that her brothers would do it eventually. They didn’t so I might as well take matters into my own hands *evil laughter*

Overall Opinion

I loved this series! I laughed, I cried, I felt every emotion the characters did. I’m pretty happy considering this is my first Gundam series!

The plot was just fantastic and the battle sequences were so beautiful I couldn’t take my eyes off it, I even scolded myself for blinking during the climatic battle between Setsuna and the antagonist, Alejandro Corner. I never liked that man ( ಠ_ಠ) I was left really shocked when I found out who the true villain was but it’s nice that the director gave the audience a surprise and I think that all anime series should have the element of surprise. What’s not to like?

The animation was wonderful, it flowed with the plot. It wasn’t lacking and it wasn’t too overrated. I give credit to the character designs as well as the mobile suit designs, they were great!

You can really see the development of the characters and I grew to understand how the characters felt. Their pasts were really tragic especially Setsuna’s, Lockon’s and Allelujah’s and they explained this really well.

SPOILER: Setsuna was born in the Republic of Krugis which was at war with Azadistan. He was a child soldier and was brainwashed into thinking that war is what God wanted. He killed his parents in the name of ‘God’. This brainwashing was caused by Ali Al Saachez. In a battle, Setsuna was about to be killed by this huge machine thing but then at the last second he was saved by a Gundam which looked like an angel. He then went on to become a Celestial Being Gundam Meister personally chosen by Veda.

My only complaint about this series is why do all of the female characters have MASSIVE boobs? I know that Sunrise are mainly appealing towards the male audience but still, it looks really out of proportion compared to their bodies ( ಠ_ಠ)

The first season has really impressed me! I’m getting excited about writing the review for season 2 now!
If you want a series with mecha fights and big boobed females than this is for you! Girls, if you plan on watching this than prepare yourself for a tearfest in episode 24! I was crying my eyes out!

Leave a Reply

