Seven Coloured Compass

Beneath the starry sky, we'll meet once again.

Neo Angelique Abyss ~Second Age~

Leave a comment

Continuing from season 1, I bring you my review for season 2!

Name: Neo Angelique Abyss ~Second Age~

Japanese Name: ネオアンジェリーク Abyss ~Second Age~

Air Date: July 6 2008 – September 28 2008

Studio: Yumeta Company

Episodes: 13

PLOT

Continuing where the first season left off, the sudden increase of Thanatos with the disappearance of the Aube Hunters has now left Arcadia in ruin. Desperation reigns high as the Religious Organization fights to battle the Thanatos. Six months had already past since Hidamari mansion burned to ashes, the Aube Hunters, once hailed as heroes, is now blamed for the appearance of Thanatos. Nevertheless, hope still exists for the reappearance of the Queen’s Egg one day, who will become the savior of Arcadia. Unknown to many however, the Aube Hunters have actually been silently waiting for the awakening of Angelique, who has been asleep the entire time.

I wanted to do a review on Kaichou wa Maid-sama! instead but I had to literally drag myself to the computer in order to finish my posts on Neo Angelique. My eyes are drooping as I type this so I’m sorry if there are any spelling mistakes or if some things don’t make sense at all!

Don’t worry Misaki, I’ll get to you and Takumi eventually!

First Impressions

I wasn’t really bothered if I watched this or not but I had to finish the Neo Angelique series before moving on. I wanted to know what happened to Nyx. When I was watching season 1, I pretty much knew what was going to happen but I didn’t know what would happen afterwards. It was weird seeing him with all that weird facial stuff, it was in a way… paranormal I guess? xD

Was I really scared of this?

Daisuke Ono has returned, hurrah! I was so happy hearing his voice again, oh how I’ve missed you Hyuuga! Same goes to Rayne and J.D obviously, I could never forget about you guys (^_^;)

Angelique is probably in a deep sleep because of the shock from the revelation that Nyx is Erebos. I get that but… 6 MONTHS?! That’s a bit much isn’t it? I thought she was dead rather than unconscious! I wouldn’t keep those bishies waiting and worrying. If one of them gave me a kiss then I would certainly wake up, it’ll be my own tale of Sleeping Beauty .。゚+.ヽ(*´∀`*)ノ゚+.゚。sorry, fangirling mode switched on again!

I was hoping that the director will wrap up everything and fill in the gaps so that I don’t have to think of crazy stories in order to complete the story myself. And no cliffhangers please, I’ve had enough of them now.

Midway Impressions

*Keeping eyes open*

Now that was unexpected… Mathias used an artificial chip. You do realise that those things were destroyed for a reason, what a douche! LOL. I just called him a shower in French…how I know that is unknown xD

The plot makes more sense than the first, it has more action which is good! I think the director must of heard some complaints about there being a lack of action and I’m glad they’ve taken opinions on board, shows that they really care about their fans and audience \(^o^)/

Give her the cold shoulder! She’ll leave you anyway…

Overall Opinion

Season 2 was a lot better than season 1!

The animation was still flawless, the opening and ending songs were both catchy and the voice actors were amazing as always!

The characters were more developed than the first season. Angelique got more guts as she took up sword fighting lessons which made me happy and she sacrificed everything that she had -friends and a normal life- to become the Queen. I think that she has found true strength in herself and in others but it was sad to see that she can never see everyone again – I was bawling my eyes out… okay, not really but you get the picture xD

Damn you Angelique! Why did you leave the bishies behind (ノ`д´)ノ〃┻━┻ out of all things, WHY WOULD YOU LEAVE BEHIND A GROUP OF BISHIES?! The ending really disappointed me AND it was left on a cliffhanger AGAIN. I am still raging about it after all this time…

Bernard, Hyuuga, Rayne, J.D and Nyx- don’t despair! I’ll stay here for you because I love you (๑´ლ`๑)

Don’t be so shocked Rayne! I was telling the truth when I said I’ll never leave you!

Jet-san has feelings! Hurray, this calls for a celebration \(^o^)/ he was so adorkable when he discovered his feelings for Angelique ♪───O(≧∇≦)O────♪

Neo Angelique overall is an okay series. I say okay because season 2 was much better than season 1 as there was a better plot, more action and better character development. Season 2 still had predictable events like season 1 but it was less obvious. The characters were more developed and showed more of their history/past than season 1 and now their feelings for Angelique become more apparent. Whoever still wants to continue watching the Neo Angelique saga after season 1, this is a must for those who can’t get enough of the magic and fantasy of reverse harem!

I’m sorry that this post was shorter than all of the others, I’ve been trying to do last minute homework before going back to school ( ಠ_ಠ ) I promise that I will try harder next time!

It may take some time for the next review to come out so please bear with me… the next review will be for Kaichou wa Maid-sama ❤

Leave a Reply

