Seven Coloured Compass

Beneath the starry sky, we'll meet once again.

Neo Angelique Abyss

Leave a comment

This is the first season of Neo Angelique, the second is Neo Angelique Abyss ~Second Age~.

Name: Neo Angelique Abyss

Japanese Name: ネオアンジェリーク Abyss

Air Date: April 6 2008 – June 29 2008

Studio: Yumeta Company

Episodes: 13

PLOT

While the young Angelique lives out her days peacefully in her school, attacks from the monstrous Thanatos has been increasing everywhere else. Two Purifiers show up one day, men with the power to exterminate the Thanatos. One of them, Nyx, attempts to convince Angelique to join them in their work, as she has the power to be the only female Purifier. As Angelique hesitates, a Thanatos shows up in their school. Nyx and the other Purifier, Rayne, fight a losing battle. With her classmates falling prey to the Thanatos, and the Purifiers beaten to submission, Angelique’s desire to save everyone awakens. She became the only female Purifier in their land of Arcadia, the one known as the ‘Queen’s Egg’.

Neo Angelique was made by the studio that did La Corda d’Oro so I knew that the animation would be beautiful. And of course… MORE BISHIES! YAY \(^o^)/ plus Daisuke Ono plays Hyuuga which is a bonus because his long hair reminds me of Azuma Yunoki from La Corda except it’s white (^^)

I must not focus on the bishies, I must focus on the series itself!

First Impressions:

The first episode went straight to the point and introduces the characters and situation. Angelique is at an all girls school who has ambitions to be a doctor after her parents. Nyx is a kind gentleman with high class and Rayne is a hot bishie who blushes easily (๑´ლ`๑)

Who doesn’t love a red haired bishie?

The Thanatos are… strange creatures. I want to murder them!

As usual, the animation is beautifully done! That’s what I expect from a romance anime but it’s a bit too sparkly you know what I mean? I know it’s for a female audience but it’s still an overuse of sparkles – what’s your excuse? It’s a shoujo anime… oh wait, it is xD

Midway Impressions

Angelique has conflicted emotions so I understand how she feels. She’s fighting to protect everyone so she has a lot of burdens on her shoulders. The amount of pressure must of been hard to deal with, thankfully the other hunters cheered her up – that’s what they’re there for! I sympathised with her hardships. As a whole, I like her character. I thought she would be annoying at first but I really like her. And her cat Erwin is adorable and when he hisses at Nyx, it’s a massive clue for the end of season 1.

Nyx and Hyuuga were so sweet when they called her “mademoiselle” or “Angelique-sama” (*´ω`*) – my fangirl mood went through the roof! I was watching this when my brother was in my room so he must of went ( ಠ_ಠ ) whenever I was squealing at Hyuuga.

Rayne is in denial. I swear to God that I will hit him! But I won’t since it will ruin his beautiful face. He’s clearly in love in Angelique – why don’t you say/do anything?! You two are perfect for each other ❤

J.D has a really sad past. It must be hard for him to live in the world, after all he is a ‘doll’. Even though he’s a doll, he’s a human in my eyes and I’m glad he’s gotten emotions. He’d be a real lifeless doll ( ಠ_ಠ ) his character design reminds me of Ryotaro Tsuchiura from La Corda… wow. Loads of characters from Neo Angelique look a lot like the ones from La Corda! They’re not copying are they?

Bernard is pretty hot for someone who’s 30, I didn’t know he was 30 until I saw the official photosO_o

Oh Bernard (๑´ლ`๑)

The settings are wonderful though, it’s truly magical!

Overall Opinion

The story was simple so it didn’t interest me enough. Select the best warriors around and fight evil – sounds ok but it didn’t grab my attention. I was hooked on the last few episodes as things got darker and more serious rather than the lighter and happier tone at the start so it was alright. The romance was a bit shallow and didn’t develop as well as I thought it would so I was upset… where’s the love guys? The climax wasn’t much of a shock mainly because I guessed that Nyx was Erebos halfway and everything was pretty much predictable xD

The animation was good through most of the series. I liked the character designs for all of the characters, and they were unique enough that you wouldn’t mistake one for the other. The action sequences weren’t anything special though since this is a shoujo series. If the fighting was heavy then this series would be okay for males too.

The opening and ending we’re really cheesy but it’s adorable and catchy so it was enjoyable. Plus the opening was sung by the voice actors who played Rayne, J.D, Nyx and Hyuuga \(^o^)/ Daisuke Ono has a lovely singing voice! Background music was decent, not that great.

Why does Hyuuga have pointy ears? It’s really weird so I thought he was an elf (※థэథ)∵.*.∵

The voice actors were perfect for their characters. They were the reason why I started watching this anyway! Yuichi Nakamura is Jet-san ~kyaaa, low sexy voices are the best 。゚+.ヽ(*´∀`*)ノ゚+.゚。

Neo Angelique was okay overall in terms of animation and characters but the romance was lacking. If you’re a big fan of romance then you’ll be left disappointed when you watch this.

Next post for the second season of Neo Angelique is coming so stay tuned! It might be better than the first season. Here’s to hoping!

And here’s to hoping for more bishies… I can’t live without them

Leave a Reply

