Seven Coloured Compass

Beneath the starry sky, we'll meet once again.

Skip Beat!

Leave a comment

Have you ever wanted to be famous? Well, I certainly have!

Name: Skip Beat!

Japanese Name: スキップ・ビート!

Air Date: October 5 2008 – March 29 2009

Studio: Hal Film Maker

Episodes: 25

PLOT

The story revolves around a young girl named Kyoko Mogami who went with her childhood friend, Sho Fuwa, to Tokyo to pursue his dream of becoming an idol. Despite of supporting him, she overhears him dismissing her as a boring wallflower. Furious, Kyoko vows to get her revenge to defeat him by entering the entertainment world.

Mamoru Miyano + Katsuyuki Konishi = a very happy me ☆*:.。. o(≧▽≦)o .。.:*☆

I’ve wondered about this series for a while but a friend told me that this was a good series so I decided to give it a go! I think I watched this back in August last year? Bit late I know ( ̄^ ̄)ゞ

First Impressions

Based around idols and celebrities, I wasn’t expecting much from this series. Hopefully after watching this, it would change my opinions!

Kyoko is really devoted to Sho – her childhood friend. So much that she juggles around many jobs to keep up her finance and pay the rent for a fancy apartment she shared with Sho. Her declaration of revenge against Sho proved how much she hated him after he threw her away. Grrr! I hate Sho, how dare you treat a girl like that (ノ`д´)ノ〃┻━┻
I’m sorry Mamoru-san, I don’t like this character you’re playing…

The demoic Kyoko is scary! I wouldn’t want to get on her bad side, she’s like my mother at times xD and the mini demons that strangle or torture the people she hates…LOL! But I’m glad she’s in L.M.E, Sho’s rival agency (⌒▽⌒)

Midway Impressions

Ren is a serious actor so I can understand why he disapproves Kyoko’s motives for entering showbiz. But he’s kind and gentle without realising it…I love you Ren *・゜゚・*:.。..。.:*・'(*゚▽゚*)’・*:.。. .。.:*・゜゚・*

KYAAA! REN-SAMA ❤

Episodes 9 and 10 show Kyoko’s acting ability. It’s raw but she has talent, like how she used a similar dialogue as the script using a malevolent emotion and later switches lines with the other actress. She’s cunning and manages to get Maria (the granddaughter of L.M.E’s owner) to realise what she’s done wrong.

Kyoko’s hate for Sho gets deeper and deeper. Poor guy, give him a break Kyoko-chan! I may dislike him too but he’s still human! In order to decrease Sho’s popularity, Kyoko reveals embarrassing secrets about Sho to the audience in a talk show where he is the guest star…instead, she increases it ヽ(*´ー`*)ノ Kyoko was dressed up as a chicken mascot called Bo and challenges Sho to a badminton match, it was hilarious the way they were whacking the shuttlecock back and forth…go Bo go xD

Have I mentioned that I seriously love Ren? I have? Oh that is so embarrassing! Hehe, oh well! Let me continue with my ongoing squealing…

Overall Opinion

The character development in Skip Beat! is probably the best I’ve seen so far.

For once we have a female protagonist who’s independent and isn’t waiting for a prince in shining armour to help her. It’s the opposite because her prince (Sho) has already disappointed her as he used her. She came to despise him and wanted revenge. Kyoko is a rather fresh and surprising character since she’s not driven by the wish of fame, power and money. By seeing her hatred and her spirits fighting each other, I can see the inner conflict of trying to become loved by the public and at the same time being full of hate for Sho.

The two male leads – Ren and Sho – are massive influences on Kyoko’s new life. Ren is a perfectionist who takes his jobs seriously so he expects others to do so as well. Initially he disapproves of Kyoko being in showbiz for foolish reasons but as the series progresses, Ren starts to see Kyoko in a different light due to her acting skills and dedication to work. Sho on the other hand is a guy who thinks too highly of himself and lusts for fame so he could be named the ‘coolest male celebrity in Japan’. Hate to burst your bubble Sho, but you need to defeat Ren first xD

REVENGE!!!

The background music often goes by unnoticed and that is a good thing as I wanted to focus more on the story. The anime’s story thrives from character development and is rounded up well with a lot of good comedic events. In the end I was very impressed o(^▽^)o

Give Skip Beat! a chance, I recommend it. It was enjoyable and I fell in love with all of the characters yes, even Sho! One of the best anime series I’ve ever watched, I might start reading the manga now to see how the relationship between Ren and Kyoko blossoms (*´ω`*)

I’ll be writing about a demon baby and a delinquent soon…I hope you know what anime this is \(^o^)/

Until next time! ❤

Leave a Reply

