Seven Coloured Compass

Beneath the starry sky, we'll meet once again.

Sekai-ichi Hatsukoi

Leave a comment

World’s greatest first love? I may have to argue with that…if I could be bothered to.

Name: Sekai-ichi Hatsukoi

Japanese Name: 世界一初恋

Air Date: April 9 2011 – June 25 2011

Studio: Studio DEEN

Episodes: 12

PLOT

Ritsu Onodera has just transferred from his father’s publishing company to Marukawa Shoten. Assigned to the shoujo manga division, he crosses paths with the person he’d least expected to meet. Masamune Takano is the editor-in-chief of the division Ritsu’s been assigned to, and the two seem get off on the wrong foot right from the very start when Masamune unexpectedly kisses him. However, there is more to than what meets the eye: Masamune Takano is actually Masamune Saga, Ritsu’s senpai and high school love, whom Ritsu had thought to have played him for a fool by taking his affections for granted when he confessed and summarily dumped him.

Unusually strange group…

Boys love. I was biased towards this series for many reasons but mainly because it’s a boy loves boy anime.
I thought I would be adventurous and eventually forced myself to watch this. It was a while ago when I managed to finally watch it but I always remembered the bunny. A freaking adorable little bunny that danced on my computer screen o(^▽^)o

First Impressions

I heard that the manga artist/creator of this also has another series called Junjou Romantica. It’s nice to see that both series are joined together because one of the main characters from Junjou is seen in the first episode of Sekai-ichi Hatsukoi. I didn’t notice until I spoke about it with a friend O_ o it’s only because I haven’t watched Junjou yet! I’m sorry yaoi fans! I will definitely watch it in future 。・゜・(ノД`)・゜・。

The lively theme tune immediately perked my interest…yay theme song ヽ(*´ー`*)ノ and of course the bunny! What is it with that bunny? Is it a mascot or something? I may still be a child trapped in a teenage bodyO_o unsuitable content for me then! Let’s change series…I’m only joking.

The characters are lively which I like since the opening had a bright and fun theme to it. How they were introduced made me giggle…one day they’re brutally exhausted and overworked, the next they’re perfectly composed and energetic. Poor Ritsu must of thought it was his personal hell when he entered the office for the first time xD

Midway Impressions

*Eyes suddenly grow larger and cheeks go many shades of pink…*

Ahem…excuse me for a second, I need to compose myself…OH MY DAYS! Ritsu and Masamune are so perfect for each other! Ritsu ~don’t deny it any longer! At first I was like ‘it wouldn’t of worked anyway, they’re both guys and Ritsu’s got a fiancée’ but now I’m totally routing for them. Team Ritsu x Masamune all the way ❤ the voice actors are the right match for the characters, especially Katsuyuki Konishi who portrays Masamune Takano *・゜゚・*:.。..。.:*・'(*゚▽゚*)’・*:.。. .。.:*・゜゚・* however, Masamune is the exact definition of a boss from hell. Don’t hire me then, I’ll quit after a few seconds!

Yuichi Nakamura is Hatori Yoshiyuki…no wonder I recognised that voice from somewhere! Still as dreamy as always Yuichi-san ❤
Hatori is in love with Chiaki Yoshino, a male shoujo manga artist under the female pseudonym Chiharu Yoshikawa. Although Hatori is Chiaki’s manager, he can’t hide his feelings for the growing artist. And it doesn’t help that Chiaki’s childhood friend – Yuu Yanase – is also in love with Chiaki…so a love triangle emerges between the three characters.

Anyone else find Yuu strangely attractive? (๑´ლ`๑)

Shota Kisa loves Ko Yukina, a man who works at the local bookstore. Shota has a thing for good looking guys like me so Ko seems perfect for him. I was excited to see how this relationship developed in future episodes \(^o^)/

Overall Opinion

I found the setting introduction quite funny and the initial backstory was pretty interesting between Masamune and Ritsu. A long lost boyfriend from 10 years ago ends up as your boss in the hectic manga section of the company, the section you didn’t apply for. The attitude between the two is pretty funny with their constant bickering. This does make it slightly difficult for the relationship to develop however, as there is even more issues than just Ritsu’s attitude. However, all of these problems will be solved in season 2!

Sekai-ichi Hatsukoi has a surprisingly good sense of humour, the constant bickering between the two main characters is amusing! But all of this starts to disappear as the series get more serious.

Sleep Masamune…it’s a good remedy for crankiness.

The opening theme song is upbeat and fun whilst the ending is more toned down. Both were suitable for the series, personally the ending was my favourite ❤

The furthest the characters have gone is kissing so I was sort of relieved. I’m not ready for full-on yaoi yet! Unfortunately, the only thing lacking was character development ( ಠ_ಠ ) their feelings aren’t improving, they’re just staying the way they began with. Hopefully they improve it in season 2.

Sekai-ichi Hatsukoi is a fluffy and cutesy series so if you’re into that sort of stuff then definitely watch this! Now, I’m going to try and convince Masamune to fall in love with me instead (*´ω`*) Season 2 will be coming soon…

Leave a Reply

