Seven Coloured Compass

Beneath the starry sky, we'll meet once again.

Brave10

Leave a comment

Ninjas. One word can describe them… hardcore.

Name: Brave10

Japanese Name: ブレイブ・テン

Air Date: January 8 2012 – March 24 2012

Studio: Studio Sakimakura

Episodes: 12

PLOT

A young ninja named Saizo Kirigakure is trying to find meaning and direction in his life when he encounters Isanami, who is fleeing from assassins. He manages to save her life, and she then asks him to act as her bodyguard until she reaches her destination. When they arrive in the protected territory of Sanada, Saizo falls into a meeting with Sasuke Sarutobi, leader of the famed ninja group. Sanada has gathered these bold and talented ninjas together in order to bring an end to Japan’s era of war. Meanwhile, Isanami’s mysterious hidden power comes to light.

[via NIS America]

Daisuke Ono is a voice acting god. He does everything, this man is just amazing! Saizo Kirigakure has never been this sexy ☆*:.。. o(≧▽≦)o .。.:*☆

Takehito Koyasu is Masamune Date so I’m keeping an eye out for him and… TAKAHIRO SAKURAI IS HATTORI HANZO! But he’s an antagonist *sob* why does the hot guy have to be the villain?!

I love ninjas so I had high expectations for this series. Ninjas can do anything from disguises to sneaking up on people in silence. Those skills would come in handy if I ever want to scare the living daylights out of my mates xD when I was younger, I wanted to be a ninja… that never happened so I’m pouting as I type this. I would of been a fierce ninja.

First Impressions

The feudal Japan era is so fascinating. I love history since it’s one of my favourite subjects so this was a bonus for me ヽ(*´ー`*)ノ

The opening and ending theme songs were nice. My favourite has to be the opening since Daisuke Ono sung it! He has a nice singing voice… but they really suited the series theme which was set in feudal Japan. It sounded foreign? (Wrong word but I don’t know what the right one is).

Wait. Is this a bishounen anime? There’s a hell of a load of handsome men and I’m hyperventilating… that’s only after watching the theme song! It’s never a good sign if I hyperventilate… it means I will faint eventually due to my forgetfulness of breathing xD blame the hot guys! It’s their fault! I’m interested in the guy voiced by Hiroshi Kamiya, I think his name was Rokuro Unno. A guy with an eyepatch screams hotness ❤

Rokuro Unno…do you want to get any hotter than you are already?

Saizo is a very cold and detached character. I love how he pratically ignores Isanami for the whole of the first episode. I agree with your actions there Saizo, she’s flannoying ( ಠ_ಠ ) speaking of Isanami, she’s such a pig! I don’t get how she can eat so much and remain skinny I wish that I could remain skinny… Poor Saizo must of thought he was sitting next to a blackhole xD

If you’re wondering what ‘flannoying’ is then it’s a word I use to describe flipping annoying. I thought of it just now so I’m proud of my creativity. Yes, I know I’m weird but it’s what makes me unique.

Midway Impressions

Episode 3 creeped me out. Blame Kamanosuke Yuri. He’s a battle maniac and craves for blood… yeah, he’s a real charmer. The fight between Saizo and Kamanosuke was tense. My eyes were glued to the screen because I was that fascinated and I was secretly hoping that Saizo would finish Kamanosuke off since he disturbed me but he didn’t so… *runs away and cries in my daddy’s arms*

When did Saizo and Isanami get so chummy? He suddenly cares for her well-being as shown in episode 5 when he loses the will to fight after her kidnapping. Seriously? Saizo, I’m afraid that I’m going to have to take you in for questioning…

Imaginary interview with Saizo:

Jimmy: *Goes straight to the point* “Why do you like Isanami?”

Saizo: “…” ( ಠ_ಠ) <— he gave me that look.

Did I forget to mention that Saizo was gagged when I took him? That’s why he can’t answer. Thank god for gagging! My new weapon of mass terror!

Saizo’s face… LOL. And Kakei, he’s a third wheel プッ(※థэథ)∵.*.∵

Anastasia has a heart of ice. Can anything melt this woman? Maybe since she has the power of ice. It’s nice that Ana and Isanami have some girl time together in episode 6. This is when the Braves and Sanada Yukimura go to the hot spring and some really funny events take place here. I will put a link to the video on Youtube here. Please ignore the subtitles on the video, this was the best result that I could find and I perfectly understand this bit without subtitles anyway. However, if you don’t understand Japanese well then do read them. This is not my video and no copyright is intended! Gotta love Saizo’s and Rokuro’s reaction though… classic. I-I feel so sorry for Ana and Isanami, they’ve been perved on by two men xD their privacy has been violated!

Sasuke Sarutobi is rather adorable! His ability to talk to animals is cool as well…

I actually like the opening and ending theme songs… they’re really catchy! It’s because of the rhythm. That’s what it is! Well, I’ve downloaded them anyway and I have to say that Japanese music never fails to please me (^^) music to my ears. I have about 90 anime songs on my iPod now, the poor thing must be overloaded with awesomeness xD

Overall Opinion

This series was bad. Simple enough. But I still didn’t drop it. Why? It was bad, yes, but it wasn’t boring.

The animation was good and the fighting scenes were decent. The style was good too but this series seemed more like a bishie fest for girls! Fangirls, watch this.

The plot is simple and the development is very bad. All through the series, Saizo is kicking butt with Isanami screaming “HELP ME SAIZO!” and crying very loudly… while this happens they meet new characters that will eventually be Braves too. That’s all.

I know that this series was about the famous Sanada’s 10 Braves, but they didn’t introduce the last member – Jinpachi Nezu – until episode 8 or 9… wait. WHAT?! There’s only like 4 episodes left Σ(゚д゚lll)it felt too rushed and the pacing was rather quick which was a disappointment. The reason I’m disappointed is because there was a lack of character development so the climax comes way too abruptly in my opinion. However, the music was catchy especially the opening – thanks to Daisuke Ono – and the overall BGM during specific events and encounters were adequate and matched the anime theme.

I would have been much happier if they extended the series to 25 or 26 episodes just to get more story and development in. They should of elaborated more on the characters so that Saizo can finally kick those bad guys’ ass properly, see Isanami get abusively destructive with her power and also to get a proper fight between Kamanosuke – the psychotic warmonger – and Saizo. It would have contributed greatly to a longer and better ending.

It’s definitely an anime to watch if you like combat-oriented storylines and a nice addition to the ninja theme. It’s nothing epic but definitely entertaining. I would watch it again if I eventually get bored and don’t have anything better to do. The chances of that happening are zero.

Hattori doesn’t make many appearances so unfortunately, I never really heard Takahiro Sakurai’s sexy voice. Boohoo 。・゜・(ノД`)・゜・。

Somehow I was debating on Kamanosuke’s gender. I had no idea if he was male or female since there was a certain episode (which I can’t remember) where Kamanosuke was called ‘oujo-sama’ by a butler that looks like Saizo. They had some sort affair I guess, but it turns out it was all an illusion \(^o^)/ thank god for that! I don’t want a nutjob dating my Saizo Σ(゚д゚lll)

Male or female? It doesn’t matter, he’s still a psychopath!

What’s your opinion on his gender guys? I want to hear what you think.

Leave a Reply

