Seven Coloured Compass

Beneath the starry sky, we'll meet once again.

Black Blood Brothers

Leave a comment

Vampires. It’s all about vampires.

Name: Black Blood Brothers a.k.a BBB

Japanese Name: ブラック·ブラッド·ブラザーズ

Air Date: September 8 2006 – November 24 2006

Studio: Group TAC

Episodes: 12

PLOT

10 years after the Holy War in Hong Kong, Jiro Mochizuki – a.k.a the Silver Blade – the lone hero who fought and defeated the Kowloon Children despite the loss of his lover, returns to Japan with his younger brother, Kotarou Mochizuki. The two quickly discover that the Kowloon Children who survived the Holy War are seeking to infiltrate the “Special Zone”, a thriving city protected by an invisible barrier that will not allow Kowloon Children entrance, unless they’re invited. Red Bloods refers to the humans; Black Bloods are the vampires, and the Mochizuki brothers are Old Bloods, the last descendants of an elite clan of vampires. When Kotarou is abducted by one of the Kowloon Children, Jiro has no choice but to fight once more.

My parents are from Hong Kong! But if there was a vampire war there then I’m hoping that there’s no traces of the creatures left. I don’t want to go back there to see random pieces of vampire, ew.

An elite vampire family. Getting flashbacks of Vampire Knight here. Anyone on the same page with me? I swear that all anime have to have at least one noble family in the cast…

Takahiro Sakurai is Jiro Mochizuki and judging from the photos that I’ve seen, he’s a pretty fine vampire. If he drank my blood, I’d be the happiest girl alive ❤ but then I also wouldn’t be happy… because all of my blood may have been drained.

Why so serious Jiro?

First Impressions

What is with that opening? I don’t like the music chosen for it. I just feel like it doesn’t suit the series since it is quite serious. On the upsides, the ending theme song was even better! I think it was by a South Korean band but it sounded sad so it suited Jiro really well. The poor tragic past of a lone hero, continuing to live on without the one he loves 。・゜・(ノД`)・゜・。

So Jiro and Kotarou are on a boat back to Japan so they can live peacefully in the Special Zone. Bless Kotarou, he’s a little cutie! He’s so bored out of his mind that he disturbs Jiro who’s happily sleeping in a coffinO_o and they are attacked alongside some refugee vampires by a ‘Special Zone Taskforce’. Jiro has to be the hero and kicks everyone’s ass with his Hide-Hand techniqueヽ(*´ー`*)ノ

I love Jiro but does he really need that hat? He looks like a leprechaun with it! He’s still good looking and voiced by one of the hottest voice actors ever so I’ll forgive the hat. You’re welcome.

Midway Impressions

Kyaa! Zelman Clock! Jun Fukuyama, you’re amazing o(^▽^)o can you believe that he’s 800 years old?! What anti-ageing cream are you using Zelman? Let me know your secrets…*mischievous grin on face.* I’ve always wanted to manipulate fire, it’s such an awesome power so I could burn away all those who annoy me!

An 800 year old vampire and he still looks like this…

I’m starting to get a rough idea about the vampires in BBB even though I’m still confused about the Kowloon Children. They’re vampires but I don’t understand how they’re so different. Would anyone care to explain this matter to a brainless teenager? Leave a comment if you’ve watched BBB and would like to explain! You’re generosity would mean a lot (^_^;)

Mimiko Katsuragi is funny and kind. She’s really caring towards the Mochizuki brothers and is willing to help them get into the Special Zone. She even goes as far as letting Jiro suck drink her blood, she was gasping in ecstasy! I like her because she’s not a stuck up girl/woman like most heroines plus she stands her own ground and doesn’t let anyone push her around. Mimiko and Kotarou are really adorable together (๑´ლ`๑)

After watching the ending theme many times, I’ve started crying whenever it finished! It’s only because Jiro is left all alone. Poor Jiro! I’ll accompany you!

Overall Opinion

It’s a story that indeed focus on a vampire, however the story makes it so that it doesn’t revolve around vampires. It really focuses on Jiro going up against the Kowloon Children. The background story is revealed in small parts at the beginning of each episode and is rather enigmatic at the start, however more is unveiled as you progress over the series. The whole story is revealed in the last episode. It’s great that the director managed to pack in a whole story in only 12 episodes, now that’s a reason to celebrate… *whips out a bottle of wine*

Some of the characters do look a bit odd but they never looked out of place. I guess that’s what you call unique character designs? All of the characters were interesting and despite the sometimes repetitive look of all the surroundings, the look of each character made me forget this most of the time. The fights between Jiro and Cassa – the antagonist – were done nicely and it left me wanting more! In contrast to most vampire series, BBB had a more bright style which made the series seem less serious.

The development of the characters is done very well in only 12 episodes. They have many different sides. The series is pretty serious, but they managed to put in some funny remarks which makes the show not too heavy. Especially Jiro who occasionally has some funny one liners every now and then. Ah Jiro, you never fail to make me giggle!

SPOILER: Kotarou is actually the reincarnation of Alice, Jiro’s lover. Alice is one of the most ancient Black Bloods and gave her blood to Jiro. Don’t forget that she died 10 years prior to the series start in the Holy War. When Kotarou reaches a certain age, Jiro will return Alice’s blood to Kotarou. In other words, Jiro will eventually die to pass on the bloodline.

So sad, I’ll cry a river if you’re gone Jiro! Is there a manga or light novel that I can read? I need to satisfy my craving for Jiro…

I would so watch this again. I loved this series a lot more than I originally thought. It was short packed action with a great storyline so it’s a must for vampire lovers!

Leave a Reply

