Seven Coloured Compass

Beneath the starry sky, we'll meet once again.

Hiiro no Kakera

Leave a comment

The Tamayori princess saga has begun. Behold the power of some handsome bishounens…

Hiiro no Kakera logo

Name: Hiiro no Kakera

Japanese Name: 緋色の欠片

Air Date: March 6 2012 – June 24 2012

Studio: Studio DEEN

Episodes: 13

PLOT

Every girl dreams of being an enchanted princess, but how many stop to think about all the grim and horrible things that happen in fairy tales? That’s a lesson Tamaki Kasuga learns all too graphically when she’s attacked by creatures she thought only existed in myths! Fortunately, she’s rescued by an extraordinary young man: one who’s not only part demon; but her future classmate as well, and one of the group of protectors that Tamaki will need if she’s going to fulfill her destiny as a Tamayori princess. A destiny that no one’s bothered to tell her she’s inherited until just now. And if it wasn’t bad enough to learn that every plan she’d had for the future has to change, to top it all off, Tamaki still has to start attending a new high school as well!

[via Sentai Filmworks]

Tomokazu Sugita! Oh how I’ve longed to hear that godly voice of yours *・゜゚・*:.。..。.:*・'(*゚▽゚*)’・*:.。. .。.:*・゜゚・* I haven’t heard your voice since I finished watching Beelzebub! Ah that was a good series…

Most people gave Hiiro no Kakera negative reviews so of course I was worried before watching this. It seems that a lot of anime series have been getting bad reviews recently. Are they really getting THAT bad? If that’s the case, please please PLEASE give me something to root for Tomokazu-san!

First Impressions

Hiiro no Kakera was adapted from the otome game series by Idea Factory. Idea Factory are very popular game developers in Japan. Most otome games have recently been getting anime adaptions. Hakuouki and La storia della Arcana Famigila are in my backlog so of course I will watch them eventually! Plus I’ve watched La Corda d’Oro, Neo Angelique Abyss, Uta no☆Prince-sama♪ Maji Love 1000% and Starry☆Sky already \(^o^)/Takuma Onizaki and Yuuichi Komura caught my eye though so I’m chasing watching them…

At last, I’ve been introduced to Daisuke Namikawa. It’s a bit late I know but I haven’t been watching any series that he’s been in apart from Mobile Suit Gundam 00 where he portrayed Michael Trinity. This time round, he plays a white haired beauty named Yuuichi Komura (๑´ლ`๑) Yuuichi seems detached from the others but when he talks, it’s always meaningful and has some sense of wisdom behind his words. Like an old man. Oh I’m not poking fun at him! Sometimes it’s good to have wisdom beyond your years…like my little brother. He’s only 12 years old and he listens to Mozart and Beethoven. Is it a bad thing to be slightly worried about that?

Tamaki seems like the type who relies on people. Great. We’ve got another one of these heroines/protagonists (ಠ_ಠ) I can’t deal with this. I really hate the whole damsel in distress thing. It really bothers me because Tamaki is meant to be the Tamayori princess who has powers and I’ve got a feeling that she’s going to be useless. Whenever I look at Tamaki, it makes me realise that she’s such an airhead. I’m serious! Her hairstyle really bothers me too, I mean who has a fringe like that?! It’s like they shoved a bowl on her head and cut a fringe out プッ(※థэథ)∵.*.∵

That fringe…it would look better shaved xD

The monsters that appear and attack Tamaki were actually gods…really, those things were gods? I thought they were big blobs of goo xD Takuma however could not let a poor damsel in distress get hurt so he goes ahead and saves Tamaki – just so you know, Takuma is voiced by Tomokazu Sugita! No wonder that low voice was familiar! Takuma has red hair (maybe that’s a sign for hotheadedness?) and is rather blunt about things. He’s a bit of a meanie so to say but I wouldn’t mind someone like him bullying me as long as he falls in love with me afterwards. What? You think I’m joking? I would never joke when it comes to matters like this. I am always serious when I want to be.

Midway Impressions

Why does Tamaki get guardians? She gets Takuma, Yuuichi, Mahiro Atori, Suguru Oomi and Shinji Inukai protecting her 24/7 while I have…my parents. Great. You don’t deserve them! *Throws a hissy fit*

Aria Rosenburg is mature beyond her years and Tamaki is a cry baby who can’t do anything. Sorry Tamaki, but I’m on Aria’s side. She’s a lot better than you and actually knows what she’s doing. It doesn’t help that Aria’s younger than you! This girl has a plan! It’s better to know how to deal with the situation and I’m afraid that the Guardians have no clue as to what they’re doing or who they’re up against. They’re against one hell of a team…but I shall exclude Drei because he’s an old geezer who looks like he has something devious up his sleeve and I have a strong dislike for him. I hope that Takuma and Yuuichi can find it in their hearts to forgive me for switching sides. Seriously, what do you even see in Tamaki guys? You’ll understand what I mean about Tamaki when you watch this, she’s pratically useless.

I love how Aria’s minions are named the numbers 1-4 in German. How awesome is that?! Their names are Ein, Zwei, Drei and Vier. The first 3 are males and Vier is female \(^o^)/ unfortunately Ein is a bulky man with a beard, Zwei is a ‘shinigami’ lit. ‘death god’, Drei is a creepy old man and Vier is a woman with massive boobs. I would of thought that at least one of them were hot but nope. Studio DEEN gives me this instead. Out of the group, Vier seems the most trustworthy and loyal to Aria; I have a hunch that’s true since they’re both females and can relate to one another. Sister love!

I know that the Guardians are trying their best to protect the artifacts that seal Onikirimaru (a sacred sword) from Logos but they always end up losing. Aria’s group are kicking ass! I thought these Guardians were meant to be strong. I was clearly mistaken. I-I’m sorry Takuma…don’t give me that scary look! I’m only hinting that you guys should get stronger and then kick their asses so that you’ll feel better (^_^;)

There’s this one episode where the Guardians are having a bath – apart from Suguru – and they run into Tamaki outside…still nakedヽ(*´ー`*)ノ now there’s a sight to behold! Shield your eyes unless you dare to look at the gorgeousness that is Takuma and Yuuichi! If you’re like Tamaki and instantly screams upon the sight, then you have no right to look at them. Those bishies would not want you to look away. Just a warning to you ladies. They’re there for you to look at, so look all you want!

How awkward is the situation…

Overall Opinion

I have mixed opinions about Hiiro no Kakera. Very mixed opinions.

Making an anime from a visual novel seems complicated and difficult especially if it’s reverse harem. So there can be mistakes regarding adaption such as the delivery of characters or in some cases, not sticking to the original story. I’ll be honest here and say that the story has not impressed me as well as I originally thought. At first glance, it seems to contain a lot of action based on the opening theme song but the story flow was a bit slow and replaced with rather heavy dialogue relating to protection, secrets, and artifacts.

If there was one thing about Hiiro no Kakera that has impressed me so far, it would be the artwork. It’s done beautifully and probably stands out more than anything; the character designs were visually appealing as well as background settings which gave off that natural feeling. Another thing was the music; the sound of this series is fluid and the opening song ‘Nee‘ by Maiko Fujita is relaxing. Who doesn’t want to listen to some relaxing music on a Saturday morning?

I think there may be something missing here…the heroine gets off a bus and is protected by a hot bishie. But, what kind of connections do they have? Oh but not only that, there are four other guys that just pops into the story with little background so far. There’s no character development whatsoever so the characters are shrouded in mystery. Aria is the reincarnation of Monado Cepheplot…who is Monado? Studio DEEN didn’t explain this so I was left confused throughout the series. And how did the guardians become, well, guardians? There was no character development whatsoever and no back stories so it all got confusing. I often thought to myself how the characters became guardians etc. If Studio DEEN did this, then the series would be a lot better.

So in the end, the Logos managed to unseal Onikirimaru but Takuma unleashes his demon power and kicks Ein’s butt! Whoo, go Takuma! At the end of episode 13, I actually thought Takuma died…I bawled my eyes out 。・゜・(ノД`)・゜・。he was just lying there with no sign of life in him and he wasn’t moving one inch! But he didn’t die so I’m happy (^^)

SPOILER: Fiona-sensei is actually Vier in disguise. It’s really noticeable though so it wasn’t a challenge. I could tell because of the hairstyle.

HOLY CRAP!! \(//∇//)\

Studio DEEN introduces a new character – Ryou Kutani – around halfway in the series, but they didn’t expand his character so I have no idea what purpose he has in Hiiro no Kakera. He’s really hot too so he’s my new favourite, I apologise to Takuma and Yuuichi…t-that bathroom scene at the end of episode 10 made steam come out of my head and his sexy voice too \(//∇//)\ I LOVE YOU RYOU!!! Pushing that to the side, it’ll be great to see what role Ryou has in the series. I’m actually rather curious about him…

I wouldn’t recommend Hiiro no Kakera to anyone but I don’t have a final judgement yet since season 2 will premiere in October this year. My birthday is in October too so it’ll be a birthday present from Studio DEEN \(^o^)/ hurry up season 2! I need to have an overall opinion on Hiiro no Kakera!

You can still watch this if you want to, I won’t stop you!

P.S, Tamaki’s fox spirit pet is adorable! I want one!

How cute is this?!

Leave a Reply

