Seven Coloured Compass

Beneath the starry sky, we'll meet once again.

Inu x Boku SS

Leave a comment

You know what I’ve always wanted? A hot servant who will do anything for me and only me.

Name: Inu x Boku SS

Japanese Name: 妖狐×僕SS

Air Date: January 12 2012 – March 29 2012

Studio: David Production

Episodes: 12

PLOT

The Shirakiin house’s daughter Ririchiyo Shirakiin – who has a complex about being unable to live independently and unprotected – feels the need to move out and live on her own under the condition of residing in the mansion named “Ayakashi Kan.” In this mansion, only those who have cleared a very strict examination could reside in it and for each resident, they are accompanied with one agent of the Secret Service (SS). Although Ririchiyo has rejected the company of the SS, while residing in the mansion she finds out that the agent assigned to protect her is actually Soshi Miketsukami, the fox spirit.

Mamoru Miyano plays Zange Natsume…he’s a weird SS agent who has rabbit ears, who doesn’t love a guy with rabbit ears? I think they’re rather adorable too after seeing the official website. His eyes are always closed though so it kinda creeped me out…there must a beautiful pair of eyes behind those closed eyes ❤

Here bunny bunny bunny!

Yuichi Nakamura plays Soshi Miketsukami. Soshi has a very noticeable heterochromia, his right eye is blue and his left is dark gold. That’s so attractive! I don’t have any friends who have different coloured eyes so it’s really rare. And…Tomokazu Sugita plays Kageru Shokiin! I heard he was a strange character and labels people as SM – sadist or masochist I thought of something different! xD

First Impressions

Ririchiyo is a half human, half demon girl and is a massive tsundere. She’s so cold to Soshi, why?! Why do you do this to him?! What did the poor thing ever do to you? That’s it, I’m making a formal complaint to Ayakashi Kan. I’m going to force ask them to give Soshi to me because I will be a better master then Ririchiyo will ever be. Mwuhahahaha!! And to finish off my rant Ririchiyo, could you please stop with the grown up act? It’s getting on my nerves. K, thanks.

The tenants of Ayakashi Kan are all unique creatures…everyone isn’t human. They’re all either spirits or demons \(^o^)/ I would love to live in Ayakashi Kan, it seems fun and enchanting! The place is massive and has a huge joint bathroom. Also, each tenant has a room to themselves and I have to say they’re bloomin lucky to live in a swanky place like that! Their rooms are larger than the upstairs of my house…I should have an expansion immediately.

Midway Impressions

It’s nice to see Ririchiyo warming up to everyone especially Soshi and Karuta Roromiya. That’s a tsundere for you!

Karuta is Kageru’s SS. She spends most of her time in her own world and only thinks about snacks like me! That reminds me, I wonder what’s for dinner tonight, I’m starving. Mother, what’s for dinner xD

Kageru is such a troll. He randomly uses a blocked number to text Ririchiyo and calls all of the tenants ‘pigs’ or ‘animals’. He’s straightforward, narcissistic and eccentric as well, I just can’t keep up with that man! Why does he wear a mask? It’s like he’s hiding something…secretive much? Or to hide the fact that he’s a troll \(^o^)/ plus he is Ririchiyo’s fiancée Σ(゚д゚lll)

Rensho Sorinozuka has tanned skin and tattoos. He’s like an older brother to Ririchiyo, has a lazy personality and bickers often with his SS, Nobara Yukinokoji though they are close. He’s always there for Ririchiyo even if she tries to pus him away so he’s a really good friend for her. His demon form is ridiculously funny…it’s a scroll プッ(※థэథ)∵.*.∵

SOSHI! I LOVE YOU!!! He’s so lonely, I’ve only noticed…everyone, spread the love for him! He needs it.

The pain in his eyes 。・゜・(ノД`)・゜・。

Overall Opinion

This series was mainly about Ririchiyo trying to overcome her isolated upbringing and to become more of an individual. Thanks to a small cast of supporting characters, her journey isn’t as difficult as she thought. The driving force behind Ririchiyo’s development is the romantic tension between herself and her SS agent, Soshi. While straightforward and predictable, the romance fits nicely into the theme of Ririchiyo trying to break free from her shell. Generally, the romantic scenes between the two are shown nicely, with lots of fluffy moments and cute encounters occurring. It makes the interactions between the two main characters feel a lot more personal ❤

The ending was pretty sweet and heartwarming but again, it felt too rushed. What is it with anime and their abrupt endings? It just doesn’t feel complete…like a huge hole in your heart.

Inu x Boku SS has nice animation. It’s not the best I’ve seen but it’s still acceptable (^_^;) Zange’s adorable rabbit ears really suit his character and draws out the comical moments from him, good job Mamoru-san! All of the funny moments were done well using expressions and chibis! Chibis are kawaii o(^▽^)o

What a faithful dog xD

The opening theme song wasn’t anything special, the sound was rather mixed up so it wasn’t my ideal opening theme. Each character had their own ending song, which is pretty cool in my opinion. My favourites were Yuichi Nakamura’s and Mamoru Miyano’s. Tomokazu Sugita’s was just WTF プッ(※థэథ)∵.*.∵

There was a wide variety of characters each with a unique personality. Ririchiyo with her bad habit of being rude to others led to some rather comical moments, that with Soshi, who is totally in love with her. I loved the parts when she calls him a dog and he basically acts like one, bless him. I love Zange’s personality, that sarcastic attitude yet trying to act nice and innocent is humorous and his ‘love’ is over the top especially for Soshi. However, there was a major lack of character development. Not much is said about their pasts apart from Ririchiyo’s and Soshi’s so I was a tad upset…WHAT ABOUT ZANGE?!

SPOILER: Ririchiyo and Soshi get together in the end…and he wants a family, n’awwww (๑´ლ`๑) the person who replied to Ririchiyo’s letters was not Kageru but in fact Soshi! How romantic!

Overall, Inu x Boku SS piked my interest for the last few episodes since the first half was basically introducing the characters. It’s a typical comedy romance anime where the majority of the series was comedy and then they hit with full-on romance at the last minute. I personally liked the plot but unfortunately, David Production didn’t develop it even further. This series is busted.

My posts will be late this week as I am going to Cornwall with my art group from school. I am very excited! But I shall tell you what my next review will be on because I am lovely to you guys. The next review will be on…Otome Yokai Zakuro! See you next time!

Leave a Reply

