Seven Coloured Compass

Beneath the starry sky, we'll meet once again.

Hakuouki Shinsengumi Kitan

Leave a comment

I know I said that I’ll be watching Campione! but… I can’t resist those handsome men (^_^;) damn you sexy bishies!

Hakuouki Shinsengumi Kiten

Name: Hakuouki Shinsengumi Kitan

Japanese Name: 薄桜鬼

Air Date: April 4 2010 – June 20 2010

Studio: Studio DEEN

Episodes: 12

PLOT

The protagonist – Chizuru Yukimura – is the daughter of a doctor who works in Edo. Her father leaves Edo to work as a volunteer doctor and moves to Kyoto without his daughter. As time passes by, Chizuru starts worrying about losing contact with her father so she decides to go to Kyoto in search of him. On the way Chizuru is attacked by some criminals and witnesses a fight between an Oni and the Shinsengumi. Taking her into custody and saving her, the Shinsengumi debate on what to do with Chizuru when they discover that she is the daughter of the doctor they are also looking for. So they decide to become Chizuru’s protectors and help her look for her father (the doctor). Lots of events happen whilst she stays with the Shinsengumi, as they discover mysterious secrets and also fight against the Bakumatsu group. The story is overall romantic with a historical and political background.

[via Hakuouki Official Website]

This is the first season of Hakuouki. I-I’m so sorry! It’s just that these men were calling for me and I couldn’t help it! They tempted me and I gave in to them… *scolds myself* I need more willpower. WILLPOWER!

First Impressions

God Saito is hot. And he kicks ass! Perfect o(*゚▽゚*)o he is really beautiful though, his long hair suits him very well but imagine if his hair was short *nosebleed* holy crap! I’ll be right back, I must dash off to the bathroom immediately! I’m back. I ran so fast that my brother was spinning around in circles xD bless him. Saito’s long hair and serious attitude reminds me of someone…HAYATE FROM PRÉTEAR! That’s why his voice sounded so familiar! Saito is voiced by Kousuke Toriumi who also voiced HayateO_o I take it that Saito is my favourite? Yeah, definitely.

I love how the whole group ganged up on Toshizo in episode 1. Let the poor guy think a little alright? It’s not everyday that you stumble across a girl and decide to let her live in the same house as you \(^o^)/ I can’t be bothered to call him by his name so I’ll just call him Toshi like the other guys do. He seems cold and distant but who cares? I love him regardless though. All my love goes towards you Toshi! Well, not all of it exactly… maybe part of it? I still need to give some to Souji Okita, Sanosuke Harada, Shinpachi Nagakura…

ShinsengumiThe cavalry have arrived!

Chizuru winds me up already. She’s such a bitch! Please excuse my foul language but that is the best way to describe her. You know who she reminds me of? Tamaki from Hiiro no Kakera… a defenceless, good for nothing who relies on people’s protection too much. Honestly, something called grow a pair and whoop their asses? All she does is go “eh?” like the bumbling idiot she is. I really despise heroines like that ( ಠ_ಠ) why are most heroines like this? It’s very rare that you get one that can actually stand up for herself and do something for others e.g. Misaki Ayuzawa from Kaichou wa Maid-sama! She was an awesome girl who stood her ground and had so much determination it was unbelievable. The girl had no fear.

The animation is gorgeous, as expected of Studio DEEN. The cherry blossoms in the opening were really pretty, I almost reached out my hand to grab them xD you know when you watch a film in 3D and everything comes flying at you? I have this habit of reaching out and trying to grab things before I realise what a complete and utter idiot I am!

Midway Impressions

The plot is now slowly unravelling as more is revealed about the ‘medicine’ that Chizuru’s father was working on. It can enhance a person’s strength and healing abilities but can result in them going mad and turn into a Rasetsu. This is proven true when Sannan-san drinks it to heal his left arm and goes insane before strangling Chizuru. How frightening does that sound? Losing your humanity for the sake of incredible abilities. That’s mental! Why would you want to do that?!

In episode 7, Saito smiles for the first time ever and the Shinsengumi have a physical exam which was definitely nosebleed worthy. Shirtless… \(//∇//)\ Saito looked yummy whilst Harada and Shinpachi had a muscle flexing contest xD I wonder who won? Of course, Chizuru takes the opportunity to spy talk to the doctor doing the exams because he knows her father. However she overhears a conversation between the doctor and Souji. The doctor then confirms his diagnosis… Souji has tuberculosis.

Souji

There’s a hint of sadness in his eyes..

I want to cry because that means he won’t live much longer 。・°°・(>_<)・°°・。I love him so much to the point of curling up into a ball of depression. It’s strangely odd how he sounds like Izaya Orihara though. I’m a bit creeped out, did anyone else notice this? Or is it just my imagination? Izaya randomly pops up in my head when I hear Souji so I naturally think “the sadist is back!” except without the furry coat and black hair. It’s not the same voice actor, phew. In any case, Souji is really adorable! He makes me giggle everyone I see him (๑´ლ`๑)

I’ve fallen for Toshi. Enough said. I don’t know what it is about him but I’m drawn to him. Maybe because he does sweet things when you least expect it. It’s quite romantic and makes my heartbeat go all over the place! The same goes with Harada, he’s so gentle and caring when you don’t expect it. I thought that he would be like Toshi because of his serious demeanour but I stand corrected… he’s a not so obvious flirt with a good sense of humour ヽ(*´ー`*)ノ I am deeply in love.

ToshiMmm… look at that hotness ❤

Overall Opinion

Hakuouki is an otome game series developed by Idea Factory which spans many platforms – PSP, PS2, Nintendo DS. It is very popular in Japan and is beginning to get translated into English. The first game to hit the U.S was Hakuouki: Demon of the Fleeting Blossom.

The plot was absolutely fascinating with the historical background which was influenced by the actual Shinsengumi and the events which occurred at that period however, the story was completely fictional. This sparked an interest within me as I am a huge fan of history so this series was a hit for me the moment I started watching the first episode. There was nothing wrong with the plot but at times it left me confused and… bothered about a few things. The thing that left me thinking was Rasetsu. I’m bothered at the idea of using ordinary humans and transforming them into these unnatural creatures. Now there’s some food for thought.

Where do I begin with animation? Studio DEEN never fails to amaze me. They succeeded with the use of lighting to create mood and atmosphere. From the hazy moonlight to the orange glow in the daytime to a bloody red sunset, the light always seemed to shine from one direction and matched the atmosphere they were trying to create. The characters were animated beautifully and they never made me say “that looks weird”. None of them looked out of place and they fitted together perfectly with the scenery and locations. Plus, they made the main male characters look gorgeous so they’re definitely eye candy for the female audience! That alone satisfied me because y’know, I’m a girl xD

Saito, Shinpachi, Souji and HaradaMy imagination the moment I saw this scene:

Saito: “I know I’m good looking so will you stop gawking at me?”

Music in slice-of-life scenes had a serene, calming flow that worked very nicely in the background which intensified in plot twists or confrontations, enhancing drama in every occasion. Powerful drum beats are added in action scenes, which not only fit the era well, but also made them all the more exciting. I love excitement!

The theme songs were good choices for this series. The opening song had an extremely catchy tune, elegant lyrics, and great vocals. The ending was pretty good, the somber song worked nicely for this series since many episodes ended with a tragedy. I wasn’t a fan of the opening but it will do since it suited the series’ image.

What I loved about Hakuouki Shinsengumi Kitan the most was the characters. I grew to love every single one of them – apart from Chizuru… I will never like that girl – but there was barely any development or depth. Throughout the entire series, I often wondered to myself their reasons to fight. It sounds silly but in retrospect, everyone must of thought this at least once after watching this, right? Putting that aside, Studio DEEN know when to make a girl really emotional. Deaths of people close to the main characters tear at your heartstrings such as Yamazaki-kun at the end of episode 12.

SPOILER: Chizuru is a pureblood Oni from the prestigious Yukimura family. The entire family was annihilated and only a small amount of purebloods exist therefore Chikage Kazama – the strongest Oni of the west – is after Chizuru so they can mate and have strong Oni babies. His reasons are unknown. Chizuru also has an older twin brother named Kaoru.

No matter how many times I plan to watch this, I will never like Chizuru. She is literally helpless and can barely fend for herself without relying on the Shinsengumi; that’s what infuriates me the most (ノ`д´)ノ〃┻━┻ at least make their jobs easier by learning how to wield a katana and fight with it! I never imagined that I would get this annoyed at a herione but it was upsetting when she cried over her fallen comrades. That was the only time I felt sympathetic towards her. Other than that, she’s rather dense and doesn’t think of situations rationally like Saito. I really love this dude. Nothing will ever change that.

These Shinsengumi have no sense do they? Sannan-san, Heisuke, Souji and Toshi have all drunk the ‘medicine’ which resulted in them turning into Rasetsu. Why was such a twisted thing created anyway? It’s sickening if you ask me.

Hakuouki Shinsengumi Kitan was the definition of a bishounen fest with elements of tragedy, history and drama. Although slow at the start, the plot begins to build only to be rushed and mashed together towards the last few episodes which could only mean a second season. There were too many sudden story developments in between events which can get awfully confusing at times! Along the way, girls are instantly pleased with the fanservice the show presents as well as the charming looks of the main male characters. Personally, I loved this series and I can’t wait to watch the second season! I’ve just realised that I’m a huge history boffin; I actually searched up all of the Shinsengumi and the events that occured… I’m a weirdo.

After watching season 1 I’m desperate to buy the game now but before I do that, I’ll have to get my PSP working. The game will have to be imported from America and has to work with my PSP which is going to take a lot of effort and time. Maybe I could persuade my dad to fork out over £45 to buy the game? That’s likely (-_-)

If I remember correctly, my friend has a costume party in January 2013 and the theme is ‘Film and Cartoon characters’. I have the urge to dress up as a Shinsengumi, walk in casually and be like “yo”. But I might be going as Lara Croft from Tomb Raider… we may have to see! I was chatting to my friend about this because I didn’t know who to dress up as and this was what happened: ( T_T)\(^-^ ) what a great friend she is.

Don’t like my opinion? Well too bad. I ain’t changing my mind for no one. Fact.

Leave a Reply

