Seven Coloured Compass

Beneath the starry sky, we'll meet once again.

Hakuouki Hekketsuroku

Leave a comment

“You’re Hakuouki.”

Hakuouki Hekketsuroku

Name: Hakuouki Hekketsuroku

Japanese Name: 薄桜鬼 碧血録

Air Date: October 4 2010 – December 6 2010

Studio: Studio DEEN

Episodes: 10

PLOT

The continuation of Hakuouki Shinsengumi Kitan.

The Edo Era has ended after 260 years of history and the Meiji Era begins. However, bitter strife still continues between the soldiers of the new government and former Tokugawa retainers. This is the stage in which the surviving members of the Shinsengumi find themselves upon their return to Edo following their defeat at Tobafushimi.

[via ANN]

It’s getting closer and closer to Christmas so naturally I’m excited! I love this time of year because I get loads of presents…I feel like a kid again. After the holidays, I’ll only have 22 weeks of secondary school left before moving on to college… how weird is that? It feels weird growing up. I still can’t grasp the fact that I’m 16 let alone college! Man time flies.

I’ve been mentally preparing myself before watching this mainly because I know that loads of my favourite characters will die; the probability of me crying my eyes out is very high. I swore to myself that I won’t cry but I doubt I’ll be able to. One of my friends gave me some major spoilers and I’m angry at her for telling me. Now I know who dies which is not a good start, I’d rather be caught by surprise than go through every episode waiting for those fateful moments! Enough of the depressing thoughts, here’s my review for Hakuouki Hekketsuroku!

First Impressions

Goodness me, has anyone else noticed how handsome the guys are in western clothes? Harada, Shinpachi, Heisuke, Toshi and Saito now wear western clothes because they’re fighting a western battle but they all look really good! I’m a bit sad they cut their hair but I like this new look! It’s out with the old, and in with the new. Saito was adorable when he realised he buttoned his top wrong (๑´ლ`๑) Harada complained about the amount of buttons xD he felt like he was being strangled. I can tell, it does look a bit tight! Chizuru was gaping at them because THEY LOOKED THAT GORGEOUS. Haha! Good reaction! I did the same thing! The little girl is growing up (^^)

Saito Hajime and Chizuru YukimuraAww! Are you a bit shy Saito? (๑´ლ`๑) STAY AWAY FROM HIM CHIZURU. HE’S MINE!!

Chizuru’s twin brother – Kaoru – wants to revive the Yukimura family by using Rasetsu to destroy all humans with help from Koudou. However, Kaoru’s plans are thwarted by Chikage who kills him in front of Chizuru before he could kill Souji. It was quite a sad death actually because Kaoru had tears in his eyes as he reached out to Chizuru as she remembered their childhood together. Gosh, he had a strong love for her. He loved her so much but that was most likely because they were separated for a long time. A tragic beginning and a tragic ending. How could Chizuru forget about her own brother? I would love to do the same to my brother but I can’t; even though they’re annoying as hell, we’re still related. Poor Kaoru, he must have suffered a lot. I feel for the guy but I can’t forgive him for using Rasetsu to gain his goals. I feel like crying…

Chikage Kazuma and Kaoru YukimuraKaoru’s death…

What, what, WHAT?! Harada and Shinpachi left?! I don’t even know why but they just left! Great. Harada, you’ve just broken my heart. You know how much I love you and yet you leave without saying anything. My darling Harada, I just pray that you will come back. Come back and make me happy! If you don’t, then I’ll hunt you down *mischievous grin*

Toshi becomes more open about his emotions, he’s not as closed as he used to be but he’s still a bit reserved. The poor soul has many conflicts with himself and can’t seem to put his mind at ease even if Chizuru tries to comfort him. He feels guilty about everything, I wish there was something that can help him *ignores Chizuru in the background* I think that Toshi is the most fragile character out of all of them. I know that sounds weird as he’s one of the strongest, but that’s how I feel. He has a bigger burden to carry than any other character so it’s not surprising if he becomes stressed and bothered. After all, he’s second in command of the Shinsengumi and a lieutenant, that’s a lot of pressure.

Midway Impressions

Rasetsu get their powers from their life force. Therefore if a person turns into a Rasetsu, they would be shortening their lifespan. Once they use up their lifespan, they crumble to dust. I thought they researched this properly? That is why you should never become a Rasetsu. You’ll waste your life quicker. No thanks, I’d rather live a normal life until I’m 90 years old.

Harada! You’ve appeared again! I’m so glad I get to see your beautiful face and hear your wonderful voice again o(≧▽≦)o it was only for one episode though because after he and Kyou Shiranui fought against Koudou’s army of Rasetsu, they were both never heard of again… wait. Does he die?! NOO!!! My life is over. I never expected that at all. I’m so upset 。・°°・(>_<)・°°・。you’ll be sadly missed Harada.

Souji! You’ve finally come! I haven’t see you for a while! Now it’s episode 6… you’ve kept me waiting! He’s still as adorable as ever but he was torn after hearing that the person he admired – Kondou – was beheaded. He starts to blame Toshi for not being able to save him and then leaves after talking to Chizuru. Later on in the episode, Souji overhears a conversation where some people were planning to assassinate Toshi so he waits until the time has come to prevent it. Before he fights, he coughs up a load of blood and then turns into a Rasetsu knowing that he is going to die anyway. Toshi and Chizuru rush to the scene but realise they were too late as Souji had already crumbled into dust with only his sword left stuck in the ground. Now they’ve really done it. Studio DEEN have really done it. When Toshi turned around and spoke, there was sadness in his voice. I knew something bad happened and I realised too late as well. That’s what set off the waterworks for me. I couldn’t believe Souji was gone. I cried buckets! Also, they put Harada’s in the same epsiode… it’s too much for me to bear 。・゜・(ノД`)・゜・。

Souji OkitaGoodbye my love ❤

Not Saito too! After losing Souji and Sanosuke, I don’t think I’d be able to cope with Saito gone as well. Well, we all know that he’s my favourite! At the end of episode 7, Saito is seen charging towards the enemy on his own. His fate is unknown but I have a horrible feeling that he died. I think that’s proven true as he doesn’t appear throughout the rest of the series except in flashbacks. I’m awfully sad now, what else do they want to do to me?! I’m a wreck already. 。・゜・(ノД`)・゜・。don’t you just hate it when directors kill off your favourite characters? You feel like your heart is teared out and it feels painful. Then you’re stuck with that feeling of loneliness. This is why I hate watching anime series with tragedy, the waterworks will never end. It’s Lockon Stratos all over again! All my feels, ALL OF THEM!

Overall Opinion

It feels really weird that I’ve finished Hakuouki Hekketsuroku. Really, really weird.

I found the story very interesting. I never thought the anime was boring whilst watching it. I like the way that they make the series last over a couple of years, rather than in a short amount of time like other anime. Part of the reason why I enjoyed Hakuouki so much is because it’s more serious and realistic; if you’re the type of person that likes something silly and fun than this is definitely not for you. I think that is another reason why some people found Hakuouki boring. Most anime nowadays are filled with silly little moments (that are also rather unrealistic) which are supposed to amuse the audience. Hakuouki doesn’t have any of that so once again I suggest that you should only watch this anime if you enjoy serious story plots. Hakuouki Hekketsuroku contains a lot of sad moments which aren’t suitable for those who don’t like depressing anime.

The animation continues to look beautiful in every single way. Of course our main Shinsengumi guys were as hot as ever but there was a lot more blood in this season. I’ve probably grown sick from the sight. Never in my life have I seen as much blood as I have in this series. Lots and lots of it. Yum. It’s going to be incredibly hard to get those images out of my head…I’m scarred for life.

The theme music was absolutely beautiful and moving. They were perfect choices for Hakuouki since this series is filled with tragedy and despair. Both songs had a hint of sadness, especially the ending ‘Akane Sora ni Negau’ by Mao. I bawled my eyes out watching the sequence that accompanied the song; the characters come and go hinting their tragic fates  which really got me going with the waterworks.

Personally, I really like the characters in Hakuouki. I love how everyone acts realistically and they have a strong bond between each other. What I see a lot of is people hating the main female character; Chizuru. True, she’s not as likable as the other main characters but she was stronger here than in Shinsengumi Kitan. She’s definitely grown after seeing the horrors of battle. Sometimes I found myself saying “Come on Chizuru! Try to protect yourself!” but I thought it was realistic at the same time since back then women were treated as inferior to men. And since Hakuouki is pretty realistic as far as the way they make the characters act and the way they stick to history, I had nothing against Chizuru for being like that. I can’t believe I’m going to say this but I’ve gained some respect for the girl. Who knew right? However, she still says “eh?” a lot which really annoys me. Don’t you have any other vocabulary to use? More sophistication y’know Chizuru!

SPOILER: In the final episode, Toshi and Chikage confront each other. During the face-off Chikage recognises Toshi as a real Oni, not a Rasetsu and gives him the demon name ‘Hakuouki’. The fierce battle between them begins and results in Chikage’s death. Toshi collapses afterwards and lies unconscious on Chizuru’s lap as she reminisces the past.

Now what really bugs me is the ending. I mean seriously, why end it like that? ( ಠ_ಠ) I have so many questions left like “does Toshi die or survive?”. It is left unclear and I’m sat in my room pondering the problem over and over again. My brain hurts from thinking too much! I hate cliffhangers like that so my only dislike of Hakuouki Hekketsuroku is the ending. Endings are lacking in most anime so I was very disappointed. Also, this season only had 10 episodes whilst the first had 12…what’s going on? If Hakuouki Hekketsuroku had 12 episodes, I would of been much happier; a proper ending could of been done. I demand an answer Studio DEEN…does Toshi die or not?! I heard that there are two films scheduled for 2013 and I’m curious about the plot. Will it be a continuation or a prequel? If it’s a live-action then I won’t be watching them. Sorry guys, I only do anime!

Toshi HijikitaAlive or dead? Keep on living Toshi! For my sake please ❤

Hakuouki is definitely one of my favourite anime series ever so the main question is…who are my top 5 guys? The answer is quite simple really:

  1. (tie) Hajime Saito and Souji Okita ヽ(*´ー`*)ノ
  2. Sanosuke Harada
  3. Toshi Hijikata
  4. Chikage Kazama
  5. Kyou Shiranui <– even I didn’t see it coming xD

I wonder if that order will change after the OVAs and Hakuouki Reimeiroku… highly doubt it. My opinions rarely change unless something makes a REALLY big impact on me. I wonder if Heisuke can change my mind? He did make me LOL most of the time and he’s a great guy.

After watching the first two seasons, I’m moving onto the OVAs and prequel. I can tell that the OVAs will be super cute! I have a hunch! I just need something to get my mind off the sadness I endured watching this and a distraction from all the blood that’s been engraved in my brain… oh how we all love Studio DEEN.

On a lighter note, I know what I’m getting for Christmas! The complete series boxset 1-5 of The Big Bang Theory… BAZINGA!

Much love for Sheldon Cooper.

Leave a Reply

