Seven Coloured Compass

Beneath the starry sky, we'll meet once again.

Suki-tte Ii na yo.

Leave a comment

“I love you.”

Suki-tte Ii na yo. logo

Name: Suki-tte Ii na yo.

Japanese Name: 好きっていいなよ。

Air Date: October 7 2012 – December 30 2012

Studio: ZEXCS

Episodes: 13

PLOT

Mei Tachibana has spent her 16 years without a boyfriend or friends. One day, she injures the most popular boy in school, Yamato Kurosawa, due to a misunderstanding. For some reason though, it seems that he takes a liking to her and one-sidedly claims that they’re friends. Furthermore, he not only protects Mei from a stalker, but does so with a kiss… ?!!

[via Karma Falls Scanlation] 

I’ve been feeling a bit romantic recently so… how about a feel good romance? I’m in a lovey-dovey mood and in dire need of some sugary sweetness to cheer me up. Why? Because someone decided to really wind me up by ruining my final piece for my GCSE Textiles! Here’s the story… I made a pair of trousers with peacock feathers hand sewn on the back to make it look like a peacock’s tail. Pretty neat huh? Anyway, after I finished I put them in my drawer in my school’s textiles room. Today I found them outside my drawer with most of the feathers torn off. Someone went into my drawer, took my work out and deliberately ripped off the feathers. SABOTAGE (ノ`д´)ノ〃┻━┻!!! I’ve never been so angry before because it took me hours to sew on those feathers. Does that person know how hard I worked on it?! Also, what do they have to gain from it? Thank god my teachers are doing something about it. It’s just not on.

Enough of my rant, I’m currently reading the manga and I have to say that it’s really good! It’s beautifully drawn and it feels like the characters pop out to me. It’s like they come to life as I read each page and that alone makes me happy. The progress between Mei and Yamato moves along smoothly and it’s well developed so I can’t complain. It’s because of the manga that I decided to watch the anime. Knowing me, I’ll be comparing everything!

This has been in my backlog for god knows how long and since it’s recently finished, I thought that I’d get myself hyped up about Yamato and learn a lesson or two in love! Love lessons are greatly needed.

First Impressions

Mei is an ordinary girl, she doesn’t have anything special about her but that makes her different to other girls which is why I think Yamato likes her. I like her too because she’s straightforward and isn’t afraid to do what she thinks is right, like when she roundhouse kicked Yamato. Of course she thought he was the one who flipped her skirt when it wasn’t, it was his friend. It’s only been two episodes but she’s already starting to recognise her feelings and is starting to come out of her shell thanks to Yamato. She’s changing because of him. In a good way.

Yamato is such a sweetie but I think he’s too kind. He agreed to sleep with Aiko Mutou because she asked him to after her boyfriend cheated on her; it’s not right. Yamato may get hurt because of his kindness and get taken advantage of. I’m grateful to him for changing Mei. He also has one of the most adorable blushes ever (๑´ლ`๑) I fangirled about it for twenty minutes! What he does and what he says to Mei are awfully romantic and it made me wish that someone would say those things to me one day. Yamato is the spitting image of a perfect boyfriend. He has some scars and he’s got some imperfections but that’s what makes him perfect. The amount of respect I have for this guy is unbelievable. I go into paradise when I hear his voice… it’s so gentle and soft yet playful; lots of love for Takahiro Sakurai! They may not look like it, but Mei and Yamato are the best couple I’ve ever seen (*´ω`*) you’ve gotten my permission to date! I want a boyfriend like Yamato; he’s so kind, sweet and caring. He doesn’t judge people quickly and that’s what all guys should strive for. All the boys I’ve dated were lovely but they would never go out of their way to protect me from harm. I’m thinking of stereotypes but I want to find ‘the one’ soon.

Yamato KurosawaYamato, I’m going to say this in the most simplest way possible… I love you ❤

I’m going to really like this anime. I can tell… I can read the future! I’m already loving it so far meaning that I’ll probably love it even more after I finish every single episode. Everything about this series moves me and I’m overwhelmed with emotions; that’s only after two episodes! My emotions are overflowing and I’m left really happy at the end of one episode or really sad. I need to keep my emotions in check. I don’t think I’ve ever liked an anime this much but who’s to say? I can’t remember, maybe I have short term memory loss… hmm. *Deep in thought*

Midway Impressions

Yamato: “He just pooped! Hallelujah!”

プッ(※థэథ)∵.*.∵

Oh that made my day xD pure comedy! Yamato, you really do know how to crack me up! Mei is talking on the phone to Yamato because he’s panicking about his cat and it hasn’t pooped yet which worried him… then it lead to that happy reaction when the cat finally did its business \(^o^)/ I showed this scene to my brother who normally doesn’t like romance anime – who can blame him, he’s a boy – but he couldn’t stop laughing! It amused us to no end and we sat in my room giggling like idiots. My poor pets must of thought we were mad. True anime fans at heart. Oh and Yamato named his cat ‘Kuro’ because of the colour of it’s fur… how simple and childlike of him!

Megumi – an amateur model – transfers into Mei’s school and falls in love with Yamato at first sight. She then encourages Yamato to take up modelling which he does reluctantly and when Mei goes to watch him, she’s overwhelmed by the sight in front of her; Yamato and Megumi look good together. Megumi even goes as far as inviting Yamato to her house knowing that he has a girlfriend. I know what game you’re playing Megumi. You’re trying to steal Yamato from Mei (ノ`д´)ノ〃┻━┻ leave them alone! Mei gets depressed which results in her crying and admitting to Aiko and Asami how she truly feels. Aiko gives some advice to Mei; show how she feels about him through words and actions. Mei storms up to Yamato and kisses him in the corridor ヽ(*´ー`*)ノ you go girl!

Confident muchAnd she scores!!! The amateur becomes an expert!

I don’t like Megumi. She’s a rather manipulative and demanding girl. It doesn’t help that her attitude annoys me. She acts all high and mighty plus she looks down on people especially to Mei. Attention seeker! Megumi thinks she’s superior and deserves Yamato more. You’re wrong there! Yamato only has eyes for Mei so bugger off and find a different guy! She fakes everything even her love for her fans. She’s putting on a different face so it’s easy to tell that her true colours are showing. I’ll never like that girl. Never. I have a strong dislike for that girl and I’m pretty sure that most girls would of had the same reaction as me.

Overall Opinion

Suki-tte Ii na yo. is an anime series adapted from the manga written by Kanae Hazuki. The animation studio, ZEXCS, handles its production which is already known for some of its past works in the romance department. The series fits within the romance and drama side as opposed to a pure romantic comedy because of the story involved.

I wondered and tried to figure out what made this anime so special. It doesn’t really bring anything new to the table. You have your average and awkward girl, the hot guy who seems to like her and some tough competition for his affections. Pretty standard shoujo plot. However, this anime accomplishes it very well. What stands out most is how dead on and accurate it depicts the feeling of falling in love for the first time. Even if you’ve been in love several times, you’ll find something in Mei and Yamato’s relationship that may bring a tear to your eye.

Mei is a good hearted character. Several female leads in this sort of role sometimes end up being an empty shell. What makes Mei stand out and unique is the decisions she makes and how she reacts to the situations around her. Throughout the series, I watched Mei make the same decisions I would have as a girl in her position. She is realistic and very easy to sympathise with which is what I loved about her. She never annoyed me once.

Yamato’s character could have easily suffered from the same sort of stigma that befalls his character type. The typical popular and good-looking guy. But never judge a book by it’s cover. Yamato actually comes off as an absolutely beautiful being. He strikes you as that rare individual that is good inside and out, and instead of ‘making over’ the heroine in his image, he seems like he was looking for someone like her all along. Then he works to get others to see she’s actually the perfect person the way she is.

Their budding relationship is realistic as well, save for the part with Yamato’s little sister who likes to cockblock every so often. From one look, it is easy to conclude that these two are compatible with each other. Watching them learn from each other and growing as a couple was entertaining and you want nothing more than to root for their happiness. The show leaves you with warm fuzzy feelings inside that stick around for a while. Mine hasn’t faded yet! The side characters also played their roles in the story as well that often brings forth new surprises and obstacles for the couple. That brings the drama into the series.

Mei and friends!You did a good job Mei! Be proud (^^)

The artwork of the series is quite realistic and portrays the backgrounds with the school life setting. The various classrooms, playgrounds, and characters are real and needs to be in that way to convey to the viewers what high school is all about. Yuka Hirama (the art director) does a wonderful job of that crafting the characters. Mei is painted as a plain looking girl. Yamato is painted as cool looking guy. Megumi is painted as a school idol with a beautiful figure. Kei is painted as a guy that used to have a rebellious nature. It is all there and the audience can see how each of them fits within their boundaries within the artwork department.

The soundtrack of the series is lighthearted. Although not too well known, Yuuji Nomi engineers the series music to create the sense of being present at the scene. It’s nothing too special because it’s mostly lighthearted and barely noticeable at times. The opening song is a very lighthearted and relaxing song that gives off that melody of sweetness which represents Yamato and Mei’s relationship. Similarly, the ending song follows the same suit to match the lightheartedness of the series. Both theme songs had a sweet melody which is wonderfully calm for your ears.

Suki-tte Ii na yo. is a classic for those into the shoujo genre. It is like a breath of fresh air to watch especially with the lighthearted backgrounds presented. For those into some school drama involving the typical high school life, it’s like a journey all over again. Experiencing the ups and downs in life is the only way to make you stronger and Suki-tte Ii na yo. definitely did this. I thoroughly enjoyed this series and there’s no doubt that I’ll be re-watching this over and over again. This series has revived my hope for falling in love again since I lost that feeling a while ago. I recommend this even if you’re not a fan of shoujo. I know many guys who’ve enjoyed this so don’t be afraid to give it a try! All those feels I had were the best emotions ever.

Leave a Reply

