Seven Coloured Compass

Beneath the starry sky, we'll meet once again.

Tonari no Kaibutsu-kun

Leave a comment

What happens when you stumble across one of the most feared boys of your school? Love perhaps?

Tonari no Kaibutsukun logo

Name: Tonari no Kaibutsu-kun

Japanese Name: となりの怪物くん

Air Date: October 2 2012 – December 25 2012

Studio: Brain’s Base

Episodes: 13

PLOT

Shizuku Mizutani is the type of person who only cares for her own grades. But when she accidentally delivers lesson notes to Haru Yoshida, he becomes convinced they are friends. Haru turns out to have a very innocent personality, but who would’ve thought that Haru would actually confess to Shizuku? A cold-hearted girl and super troublemaker romance with a fresh new perspective.

[via MU]

*Sighs* man, have I been busy! I’m sorry that it seems like I’m slacking off but I’m trying really hard to juggle everything. With my final exams coming up and all of my coursework due to be handed in, the pressure kinda got to my head so I’ve been really tired recently. Don’t take it the wrong way, I do love writing reviews and watching anime but the amount of work keeps on piling up. Curse you school. Curse you.

Actually, I’ve also been preparing for my school trip to America which I’m leaving for on the 13th of February. The day before Valentines day… how depressing. Well, I’m excited! I haven’t been abroad for a while and it feels quite good getting out of the UK for a bit! So yeah you can imagine how busy I am packing and whatnot. Seriously, it’s a nightmare. I can’t wait though since it’ll be worth it. Yay America!

First Impressions

Aw. I already love this series. And it’s only been one episode! I think it’s really cute how Haru declares Shizuku his friend almost immediately after they meet and he’s just so adorable when he cried of happiness (๑´ლ`๑) how could you not resist that face? Oh and he actually confesses to her! How would you know if you’re in love with someone when you barely know each other? A few hours at that! Is this the power of love at first sight? Haru’s love confession is probably one of the cutest I’ve ever seen. It was completely out of the blue so I was a little shocked but a bit happy at the same time. I’ve definitely fallen for you Haru. You’re just too sweet ❤

Shizuku is really blunt with her words so it’s rather amusing watching her turn Haru away. But Shizukuu~ he wants monja! Why say no to monja? She has a cold exterior and may seem like a total bookworm but she stands up for Haru when his so called ‘friends’ complain about Haru not giving them money. She’s earned my respect *applause* plus she’s great entertainment. Her reactions whenever Haru’s nearby are awfully humorous and her facial expressions are the best I’ve ever seen! To be honest, I would react the same way. Shizuku is one of my most favourite female protagonists and it’s easy to see why. She’s not your standard bishoujo who gets all the boys, but a regular girl like me or anyone else out there with real feelings. Shizuku is my beacon of light and my role model \(^o^)/

Monja!Monja! Monja! Monja! Monja!

Does anyone else think the plot is somewhat similar to Suki-tte Ii na yo? Both protagonists are females who are introverts and not very sociable, a good looking guy declares they’re friends, they kiss and then everything goes hunky dory from there? There’s something going on here xD well, these sort of plots always make me smile since I know they’re more realistic than other series. I like a bit of realism in my anime because I am a real person.

Haru finds a rooster! He brings it to school everyday until the teacher finds out. All of the students thought he was even weirder than before but it’s natural. Who would bring a rooster to school? xD it’s not everyday that you see one sitting in a cardboard box like the good pet it is. D’aww. Now I want a rooster…to roast xD I joke of course so you don’t have to stare at me like that Haru! I won’t harm your precious rooster….even if I’m dying of hunger. I’ll go hunt for some dinner now since I’m really hungry.

Midway Impressions

Make up your mind Shizuku. Do you seriously love Haru or not? I will steal him from you if you don’t come up with an answer in the next thirty seconds… no matter what the answer is, I’m still going to take him whether you like it or not. Mwuhahaha! I’m sorry Haru, Shizuku feels conflicted at the moment. I can’t believe she turns Haru down after he confesses his true feelings for her and then whenever Haru does something like touch her, she blushes like a tomato! And you said you didn’t love him anymore (-_-) what is this monstrosity?! Hiding your feelings for the sake of studying, it’s unfair to yourself Shizuku.

TextWhat. Is. This.

Haru is just a big ball of adorableness that I just want to take home. His blush is to die for and he’s so asdfghjkl! Excuse my gibberish. I rarely do that. It’s quite obvious that he has family issues though which I can relate to. He hates his dad and his older brother Yuzan, voiced by Yuichi Nakamura… I didn’t recognise his voiceO_o Haru’s dad kicked him out of his home before he entered middle school. That’s pretty harsh. And the reason is unknown but Yuzan has stated that Haru was quite the troublemaker. Haru was then brought up by his aunt who died and now he’s living with his cousin – his aunt’s son. You poor baby! 。・°°・(>_<)・°°・。

Haru and Shizuku’s friends seem oddly familiar to me. I can’t seem to grasp… OH WAIT A MINUTE! They remind me of Asami Oikawa and Kenji Nakanishi from Suki-tte Ii na yo. Their personalities are somewhat similar and I’m often pondering about it whenever they appear. Sorry, I forgot to mention that their names are Asako Natsume and Souhei Sasahara; he’s nicknamed ‘Sasayan’ by pretty much everyone at their school. And Asako affectionately calls Shizuku ‘Mitty’ which is actually really sweet (*´ω`*) only true friends would give you nicknames! I have so many nicknames that I’ve lost count! My favourite one is Captain Chui which is a nickname bestowed upon me by my best friend. I love her to pieces.

Kenji Yamaguchi is a blonde haired boy who attends the same cram school as Shizuku. He initially used Haru but the two remain friends though their friendship is sort of strained. He has a terrible sense of direction and I found it extremely amusing when he had to ask a librarian where this particular book he was searching for like FIVE times プッ(※థэథ)∵.*.∵ he has his pride as a man so of course asking others to help will hurt it. You can tell he’s slowly falling for Shizuku but he won’t admit it. Damn it, what is it with everyone hiding their feelings? Why not make a declaration of your love and proclaim that she’s yours? Stand under a balcony and shout it to the world! Haru is clearly jealous of him. It’s so obvious that his actions prove for himself! He even punches Kenji for even touching Shizuku Σ(゚д゚lll)whoa, bit too far there sweetie!

Overall Opinion

It’s a shame that romantic comedies these days are infested or overloaded with harems, where your average and ordinary guy pulls about four or more girls due to some unforeseen circumstances *looks at Campione!* Tonari no Kaibutsu-kun is how all romantic comedies should strive to be. First of all, there are two key elements that constitutes to a successful romantic comedy: romance and comedy. Fairly obvious, I know but it’s 100% true. As a romanticist myself, I don’t consider romance to be: “I love you because you’re the main character of this story. There’s no particular reason why I should like you” I also don’t consider comedy to be constant sexual innuendos and sexual harassment from characters to others. It’s not funny, not to mention overdone and sometimes rather annoying to put it bluntly. I mean no offence here. I’m just stating my opinion.

Tonari no Kaibutsu-kun is a fantastic and realistic love story. The two main characters – Shizuku and Haru – make up a hysterical yet dynamic duo. They are both socially awkward, combined with the fact that they have no clue as to what and how a relationship works. This is actually a big positive, simply because the story avoids all the generics in your typical relationship cycle. Skipping the fated meeting, the commonalities, the date, predicaments, the make up, and finally the confession. Haru and Shizuku are oblivious, allowing them to clearly speak their minds and to put it simply, being brutally honest. Can you imagine blurting out everything that’s on your mind and how ridiculously entertaining that would be? Yeah, I certainly can. This is one of the primary reasons why the characters in Tonari no Kaibutsu-kun are so lovable and funny. The characters not only avert many of the typical stereotypes associated with this genre, it manages to make its two leading characters some of the most believably lonely and isolated characters I’ve ever seen in a long time. Love them or hate them, we’ve all probably known people like Shizuku and Haru. Some of us may have BEEN those kids. Better still, they complement one another remarkably well, each filling in the gaps that they’re missing in surprisingly clever ways.

Haru YoshidaWhy are you so darn cute Haru?

Brain’s Base did a spectacular job in producing this anime. The art is wonderfully good and colourful which is nice to look at. The scenery, the character designs and the animation makes Tonari no Kaibutsu-kun quite a relaxing and light hearted series. The character designs are flawless and charming. My heart literally skips a beat whenever I see the male characters blush or smile which in this case is mostly Haru’s fault. It’s unbelievably cute and heart-warming Seriously. Who needs moe when you have a hot guy blushing? The voice actors did a masterful job in portraying their respective characters bringing them to life.

The realism of this show is something to boast about. Not many rom can accomplish this so it’s a feat for Tonari no Kaibutsu-kun. In other romantic comedies most of the time, events seem too cliché and leaves you thinking “what the heck am I watching?!” however that thought never crossed my mind for a second whilst watching this. This is definitely a slice of life anime that deals with the difficult choices a teenager comes to choose between…your future or love? Tonari no Kaibutsu-kun has taught me what risks there would be if you made one bad choice but you also have to be true to your feelings and yourself, otherwise you won’t progress anywhere. Unable to move forward so to say. Yes education is important, but your feelings are as well. Life lesson and words of wisdom done.

SPOILER: A few days after New Years, everything returns to normal. Haru and Shizuku find a firefly that Haru was searching for and says that he wanted to see it together with Shizuku. In the end, Shizuku states that there are still many stories to be told about her friends and Haru.

Overall, Tonari no Kaibutsu-kun is an anime series that perfectly fits in the romantic comedy genre. Filled with a lot of LOL moments, this series managed to make me laugh at almost everything. This series was oozing with comedy! The romance was plentiful too as Haru constantly tries to win Shizuku’s heart and beating other competitors vying for Shizuku’s affection. It was bittersweet and just plain adorable. Tonari no Kaibutsu-kun is one of those animes where you can never get tired of it therefore I conclude that this series passes! Congrats!

Since that’s over and done with, I better continue packing my suitcase… I’m not even halfway there \(^o^)/ my suitcase won’t be able to take it with the amount of clothes I’m packing. Teehee!

Leave a Reply

