Seven Coloured Compass

Beneath the starry sky, we'll meet once again.

Wooser’s Hand-to-Mouth Life

Leave a comment

“My name is Wooser. And while I deeply regret it, I will be the star of this anime program. Do note that the dot in the middle of my face is a nose, not a mouth.”

Wooser's Hand-to-Mouth Life logo

Name: Wooser’s Hand-to-Mouth Life

Japanese: うーさーのその日暮らし

Air Date: October 3 2012 – December 19 2012

Studio: Sanzigen

Episodes: 12

PLOT

3D shorts centered around Wooser, a mysterious mascot character whose charming appearance belies a corrupt heart.

[via ANN]

I don’t know what encouraged or inspired me to watch this but all I know is that it’s been in my backlog for a while. Also, I needed to watch something short since I’m going to America next week. I’m actually nervous and scared now. Why? I’ve had nightmares about my plane crashing and all that scary stuff. It doesn’t help that I’ve been watching Air Crash Investigation recently no thanks to my brother. Eurgh.

Gosh, I’m taking such a long time to pack! It’s a lot of hard work and to be honest, I wish my suitcase would pack itself. You know what I want to bring suitcase so get started! Great, now I’m talking to inanimate objects. My life is messed up. I should get help. Honestly, surely you must understand how I feel right? When you pack for a holiday, it’s a pain in the backside because you get stuck with silly decisions, for example what shoes you’re going to bring etc. I get stuck with this all the time. The disadvantages of being a girl. It doesn’t help that my headteacher says “this is not a fashion parade so dress suitably for the weather” which I find rather stupid. That limits what I can pack since I’m a fashionable girl and I get judged on what I wear. Of course I’ll dress suitably, I’m not an idiot who will wear shorts in America when it’s winter. That’s stupidity itself!

Mamoru Miyano voices the titular character Wooser. Really? He’s gone from voicing good looking young men, to a yellow blob? I have to say that’s a new low, even for you Mamoru-san (^_^;) I thought that Wooser would be a dog or something similar but clearly not. However, a show is a show right? Shall we move on then?

First Impressions

God, I never thought I’d be laughing so much! It’s rather unbelievable since I was completely biased towards this show before. Who would of thought that a little blob could be so hilarious?! I certainly didn’t for that fact. Wooser is rather sarcastic in some sense but he is quite subtle when he jokes around. No one can tell if he’s serious or not with that voice of his \(^o^)/ Mamoru Miyano, work it genius! The main question at the moment is, how can he talk? He has no mouth so how is it that he can actually say some proper vocabulary? I’m awfully creeped outO_o I don’t think I want to see Wooser anymore… but then again, he’s the main character and it’ll be difficult to get rid of him so easily without ruining the whole show. Hmm… *planning* I might have a plan if anyone is willing to help but I don’t want to ruin Wooser’s adorable little face. Decisions decisons.

Dinner!Dinner is served! Nom nom…

This series makes no sense whatsoever. The first episode goes from Wooser spinning around in a tire, to a freaking pirate ship! How does that even work?! But that’s the beauty of this series I guess. It’s still filled with plenty of LOL moments which I do like and I’m actually enjoying this series much more than I originally thought before starting. Wooser is such a weird creature and yet he’s still really adorable. And pervy. That’s right. At one point, he’s causually on the stairs when two of the female characters walk on him; he got a good view there LOL. He’s a pervert who likes to look up girls’ skirts. Nice one buddy! Later on, the four girls hold a funeral for Wooser since he turned to white ash after he saw up the girls’ skirts. As they say a prayer, they realise how terrible Wooser is and just leave xD that’s very respectful. Very respectful ( ಠ_ಠ) I feel pity towards Wooser. No love at all for the poor guy.

The series feels like a video game because of it’s vivid bright colours and the opening theme song. It’s short but it sounds like the tune you get from dated video games like Tetris, or something else which I can’t remember. Mario games maybe? Ok, so I’m not the best at remembering classic games. I do remember playing the Smurfs when I was younger but that’s about it. I have the memory span of a goldfish (-_-) I do apologise everyone. I apologise from the bottom of my heart! Cross my heart. I might play Tetris now; I’m really tempted as I like the idea of falling bricks building into a rocket launcher ヽ(*´ー`*)ノ

Midway Impressions

Wooser is starting to lose his spark but he’s still pretty funny. Just not ‘laugh until you get a stitch’ funny. C’mon Wooser! Get your act together and make me ROFL or LMAO at least. Oh wait, he has! Mission accomplished. Honestly, this little blob can go all night if he wanted! But please don’t, I won’t be able to stay awake for twenty four hours. I can’t stay up for about ten minutes in school let alone twenty four hours! Our beloved Wooser is still as pervy as ever and I don’t think that will ever change. I swear he has a thing for school uniforms because he clearly states in episode 5 that he wants a uniform… only to have his dreams ruined. This made me wet myself:

Rin: “It’s goodbye already? We were just getting started!”

Miho: “It’s ending after all?”

Yuu: “It’s over in just five episodes?”

Ren: “No way! That’s impossible!”

Wooser: “I hinted so much… and nobody gave me a uniform! I can’t stay here anymore. I must go on a journey.”

Hahahahaha.

Aw, Wooser is such a drama queen. He’s overreacting to the situation and turns out, he actually goes missing at the beginning of episode 6 due to the events which occurred in episode 5 プッ(※థэథ)∵.*.∵ bless him. Such a cutie! Wooser reminds me of one of my friends; she’s a drama queen with a lot of sass so she’s similar to Wooser. You know what I find annoying though? The girls in this series. This is mainly because of how fake they sound when they laugh. It’s sounds forced and robotic which made me think that the seiyuus weren’t trying when they were recording. I think the only one who made the effort was Mamoru-san and he doesn’t even voice a REAL creature! I have so much respect for you Mamoru-san. I worship you. Just so you know, Mamoru Miyano is like my personal god. I think that’s fairly obvious by now; I have a major obsession with this seiyuu! Maybe I should build a shrine in my room and make it a tourist attraction so all otaku can visit? That’s likely isn’t it? NOT. I doubt that my parents won’t even let me build a table xD sorry guys, plans off!

King WooserI am your king. Bow down and worship me!

By now, the animation has kinda grown on me. It’s all down to Wooser. He’s just the cutest – if not perverted – animal I have ever seen. I know it sounds weird coming from me and that Wooser is actually just a walking, talking blob but I still adore him. The words that come out his mouth are the strangest things ever and yet I can’t help but giggle to myself. What is it about Wooser that I find so amusing? Appearance? Voice? We’ll never know for sure. The suspense of it all xD

Overall Opinion

What I really liked about Wooser’s Hand-to-Mouth Life is that it is very relaxing. The plot is…well, what plot? There’s no complicated plots or anything like that to follow and there isn’t a whole horde of characters- it’s all very simple. The series is a day by day insight into Wooser’s and his friend’s ordinary lives consisting of robots, food, uniforms and basically anything on Wooser’s mind which is mostly perverted thoughts.

The cast who starred in this was roughly 50/50 in my opinion; I was genuinely surprised when I learned that my favourite seiyuu – Mamoru Miyano – was in it, a famous voice actor who has been casted in many other great animes namely Death Note and Mobile Suit Gundam 00. This was what caught my eye in the first place and drew me into this series. The many voices Mamoru-san used are either deadly serious or a sarcastic manner; it was deep enough to be a man, but versatile enough to be weird, dramatic, and airy which entertained me throughout. He’s got a wide vocal range so there’s a lot of possibilities for him. Mamoru Miyano will never bore me for as long as I live.

BathtimeComfy there Wooser?

Animation for this series was simple but well done. It had the feel of a cartoon and it was less detailed than other anime series I’ve watched recently such as Tonari no Kaibutsu-kun, Suki-tte Ii na yo and Kuroko’s Basketball. There is no doubt that the animation is undermined compared to other series released that year however, I still liked the animation better than the more popular series of 2012. Maybe it was the way that it looked like the studio barely tried to make this series astounding. By my reckoning, the animation was perfect for the type of comedy this series was trying to accomplish to which I have to say, was done very well.

Since each episode is rather short (about three minutes long), Wooser’s Hand-to-Mouth Life is also a good anime for when you don’t have time to sit around for hours watching anime. It is not the kind of thing where you have to be a really specific type of fan to enjoy it, and not forgetting that it is very short therefore if you watch it and dislike it, it isn’t a big loss of time. Put it frankly, you haven’t wasted any time at all!

So after watching Wooser’s Hand-to-Mouth Life, I can conclude that although there isn’t much concerning plot or character development, this series is still fun and spunky to watch. If you’re looking a short, funny and lighthearted anime without the complex plot lines then this is the series for you. If not, then go watch something else like Mirai Nikki – a recommendation from an acquaintance of mine. Although hesitant at first, I watched this series without expecting too much but what I got out of Wooser’s Hand-to-Mouth Life was a bunch of LOL moments and the adorableness that is Wooser. It may not be everyone’s cup of tea, but it’s definitely mine. I watched this being completely biased but after completing this series, it has changed my view around. I learnt a lesson here: never judge a book by it’s cover. I was taken aback by how funny Wooser’s Hand-to-Mouth Life was thus making it one of my favourite comedies. I think I was prejudiced about this particular series at first.

Oh I do love a good comedy! It certainly relaxed me after getting frustrated with packing. I’ll have to focus on it again though (-_-) well, I better get back to it! I’m guessing that I won’t be watching any anime for about a week or two since I might be unable to do so in America. I will try but I’m not certain if it’s doable. In the meantime, do feel free to leave comments or read any of my previous posts! Maybe like them if you want? One last message before I go, I’ll be singing ‘Empire State of Mind’ by Alicia Keys when I arrive at Empire State Building in New York so if you happen to be passing by, do ignore me please or join in the fun! NEW YORK, CONCRETE JUNGLE WHERE DREAMS ARE MADE OF!

Bye for now and I’ll see you soon!

Leave a Reply

