Seven Coloured Compass

Beneath the starry sky, we'll meet once again.

Diabolik Lovers Green-lit!

Leave a comment

This news is a bit late and I apologise that I haven’t been posting up any reviews recently. I really feel like I’ve been slacking off. School has taken over my life. My nightmare is happening.

Have any of you guys heard of Diabolik Lovers? What?! You haven’t? I’m sure that many otome game fans would know this if they’re particularly into the whole vampire thing…

Diabolik Lovers

On Sunday 24th February at the Reject Fes 2013 Viva La Revolution event, it was announced that Diabolik Lovers will be getting an anime adaption this year. Indeed it’s about vampires but don’t expect any of them sparkling in sunlight!

The plot revolves around Yui Komori, a normal high school girl who often experiences supernatural phenomena. In her second year of high school, she transfers to a new school – a night school for entertainers and celebrities – due to her father’s work. Rumours spread about the presence of vampires amongst the student body and Yui begins to live with the six Sakamaki brothers… who are vampires!

The six sadistic brothers (from left to right in the image above) are Shuu (voiced by Kousuke Toriumi), Reiji (voiced by Katsuyuki Konishi), Ayato (voiced by Hikaru Midorikawa), Kanato (voiced by Yuuki Kaji), Laito (voiced by Daisuke Hirakawa) and Subaru (voiced by Takashi Kondo). My favoruites in terms of looks are Shuu and Subaru…they look so princely.

Diabolik Lovers already has a PSP game which was released October 2012 and a fan disk called Diabolik Lovers More Blood is set to be released this year for PSP platform. The fan disk will introduce four new transfer students (also vampires) voiced by Takahiro Sakurai, Ryohei Kimura, Tatsuhisa Suzuki and Daisuke Kishio. Character songs are also set to be released this year starting from June.

I’ve never played the game personally and while I would love to, I simply can’t. I’ve read many otome game blogs and their reviews on this game and all I have to say is wow. I have no words to describe what I’ve been reading. Imagining what the anime would be like can only frighten me even moreO_o I’m actually terrified of the countless possibilities that may turn this adaption into one of the creepiest ever. I may be scarred for life if I ever plan on watching this!

I’ve noticed that a lot of otome games have been getting anime adaptions over the last few years: La Corda d’Oro, the Angelique series, Hakuouki, Starry☆Sky, Uta no☆Prince-sama♪, Hiiro no Kakera, La storia della Arcana Famiglia, AMNESIA, Brother’s Conflict and now Diabolik Lovers. So why do these otome games get anime adaptions? Is there a popular demand for more anime series to be aimed towards the female audience? I’m certainly not complaining because this means more bishies to feast my eyes on o(^▽^)o

What do you think? Have Rejet made the right decision to let Diabolik Lovers have an anime adaption?

Leave a Reply

