Seven Coloured Compass

Beneath the starry sky, we'll meet once again.

Uta no☆Prince-sama♪ Maji Love 2000%

Leave a comment

1000% isn’t enough for these guys!

Uta no Prince-sama Maji Love 2000 logo

Name: Uta no☆Prince-sama♪ Maji Love 2000%

Japanese Name: うたの☆プリンスさまっ♪ マジLOVE 2000%

Air Date: April 3 2013 – June 26 2013

Studio: A-1 Pictures

Episodes: 13

PLOT

Entering her Master’s course, Haruka Nanami is facing an even more difficult time. And she isn’t the only one. The main six members of ST☆RISH are assigned new seniors to watch over them! But the seniors aren’t having the best attitudes about it.

Watch Uta no☆Prince-sama♪ Maji Love 2000% and find yourself completely engaged in a whole new adventure mixed in with comedy and romance!

UTAPRI HAS RETURNED! Oh my life was so bland until you came bouncing back into my life, I’m crying with joy o( ╥﹏╥ )o I can hardly contain my excitement! I love UtaPri so much because of the extremely catchy songs and of course the handsome fellas who pop up! I mean, who doesn’t like to fawn over gorgeous male cartoons? Name one person who doesn’t. UtaPri is my bundle of joy and no one can take it away from me no matter how hard they try!

I can guarantee that I will be singing along to every song that pops up, it’s hard NOT to right? Please excuse the many faces I will pull in this review… it’s so hard not to, but it must be done. If you don’t pull faces like these whilst watching UtaPri, then you my friend have something wrong with you. Oh, and please excuse the excessive amount of photos I post… I really can’t help it.

First Impressions

Haruka and crew are back and this time instead of being students at the prestigious Saotome Academy, they’re budding idols! The first episode just gets back into the swing of things and re-introduces us to our darling guys, who’ve been absent from our lives for nearly two years… come here Tokiya and Ren, come into my arms and give me a BIG kiss (づ ̄ ³ ̄)づ mwuaaaa! Well, our boys have gotten seniors to help them hone their skills as idols. Their seniors are none other than the group seen at the end of season 1. Turns out, they’re a popular group named QUARTET★NIGHT; Reiji Kotobuki is Tokiya’s and Otoya’s mentor, Ranmaru Kurosaki is Ren’s and Masato’s mentor, Ai Mikaze is Syo’s and Natsuki’s mentor and Camus is Cecil’s mentor. Oh, and did I mention that Cecil joined the Master’s Course? Yeah, even I was shocked. I do however, have taken a liking to the fellas of QUARTET★NIGHT; especially Ranmaru and Reiji… Tatsuhisa Suzuki and Showtaro Morikubo FTW. QUARTET★NIGHT’s song (POISON KISS) is really catchy AND the lyrics are kind of sexual if you listen closely and translate them… it doesn’t help that Ranmaru and Camus’ voices are literally in your ears; it’s unbelievably sensual… is it wrong to say I almost had an eargasm listening to this? This is my favourite song now. Done and dusted, no arguments! \(^o^)/

Quartet NightWork it boys!

The opening song by Mamoru Miyano is probably one of the best I’ve ever heard. In fact, I love it so much that I downloaded it the moment it was released! The song is called ‘Kanon’ and I have to say, the lyrics and composition are spectacular. Heck, I even know the lyrics off by heart. I need to get a life. If only I bothered. But you know what really caught my attention? The ending song ‘Maji Love 2000%’ by none other than our ST☆RISH boys. It’s just as catchy (maybe slightly more!) as the season 1 ending however this time, they have some sexy new dance moves to show off! You’ll know what I mean when you watch them do their thing… I want them so bad (づ。◕‿‿◕。)づ you don’t believe me? Oh ho my dear friends, watch the ending credits and you shall be taken into a world you’ve always dreamt of. No jokes:

Natsuki: I need you… S…
Tokiya: I feel you… T…
Cecil: I miss you A…
Ren: I kiss you R…
Otoya: I believe you I…
Syo: I hold you S…
Masato: I want you H…
All: ST☆RISH forever!

My favourite episode so far has to be episode 4. Masato Hijirikawa is the main lad in this and he has an audition for the leading role in a historical drama. Problem is, there’s a scene where he passionately embraces the leading female and being…urm, Masato, he gets incredibly flustered about it. So the ST☆RISH boys help Masato practice and the result is… Tokiya dresses up as the female. TOKIYA MY BABY, WHAT HAVE THEY DONE TO YOU?! Their efforts are all wasted since Masato can’t embrace the female, especially because that said female is Tokiya. My poor poor baby got rejected 。・゜・(ノД`)・゜・。on the bright side, Masato manages to pass the audition! All he had to do was imagine that he was embracing Haruka. Oh, you player… you have crawled your way into my heart ❤

Poor Masa-chanThey all had to hold in their laughter… Tokiya wasn’t exactly the best cosplayer プッ(※థэథ)∵.*.∵

Midway Impressions

Otoya is just a big ball of sunshine. He’s so adorable that I could hug him right now! He’s such a pure soul, I personally think we’re related somehow! Otoya was helping out at the orphanage he grew up in because they were having a fundraiser or something and then the children came up with the brilliant idea to host a haunted house! I thought it was super cute when he held hands with Haruka as she was so scared, although now that I look back on it, there was nothing THAT scary. Anyways, the fundraiser wasn’t getting much awareness so Otoya sings. Then the rest of the group turns up… in teddy bear suits ヽ(*´ー`*)ノ how adorable is that?! I just wanted to squeeze them go to sleep whilst cuddling them… wouldn’t that be nice?

Teddy bearsKAWAIIII!~❤

Is it me, or has Ren gotten even SEXIER than the last time I saw him? That man will not stop at any lengths to make me love him even more than I already do. He just oozes sexual pheromones and it doesn’t help that Junichi Suwabe voices him with that low, teasing voice. It’s always Suwabe-san who voices the flirty, playboy types… but it’s not like I don’t enjoy hearing that voice! Honestly, what am I going to do? Seriously episode 6 was just… I can’t even put it into words. And when I re-winded the episode to watch it again, I hear this:

Ren: “I had no idea my songs were making you so hot.”

(O_O) … *nosebleed* \(//∇//)\

Holy crap. I think I just died.

What makes this even better is that Suwabe-san used that REALLY seductive voice. You know the one where he’s practically saying “it’s sexy time!”. It rung in my ears (I was wearing headphones so it was like he whispered to me!), gave me another eargasm \(^o^)/ and it actually made my cheeks flush! My mum thought I had a fever and nearly took my temperature, god bless her… but I can’t exactly tell her that an animated character is seducing me… she’d get slightly worried. Unless I can get her into anime, then she can see why I’m always wetting myself laughing; what a lovely thought! Anyway, this particular scene happened during Ren’s episode where he participates in a fashion show and suddenly, a power-cut happens. All the girls and fans attending whine before Ren decides to sing his song – Orange Rhapsody. Let me tell you now, this type of song suits Ren best. It was incredibly jazzy and I couldn’t help but dance in my seat as I listened. Here’s some advice, to get the most out of this episode (and Ren’s gorgeous voice), watch it with headphones in… it’s much better that way! (๑´ლ`๑)

RenThat wink is a crime against humanity.

The music is even better than the first season! They’re more catchy than before and they’re even more fitting for the characters. Problem is… where’s Tokiya’s? Everyone else has had one so far and he’s the only who hasn’t had the chance to sing… he’s left out. And I was so looking forward to hearing Mamo-chan’s harmonic voice (-_-) if I don’t hear his idol song within the next two episodes, I am going to lose it. I really am. It’s more likely that they put Tokiya’s episode towards the end of the series… because I am totally shipping Tokiya x Haruka. Maybe not TOTALLY because I love him dearly too and I have hope that he’ll one day be mine (highly improbable, but I can dream), but because I think he and Haruka look cute together. Oh, but then she looks good with all the other guys… Otoya x Haruka, Syo x Haruka, Natsuki x Haruka, Masato x Haruka and Ren x Haruka… I CHANGED MY MIND. THEY’RE ALL PERFECTION, SHE SUITS ALL OF THEM. I SHIP THEM ALL.

Overall Opinion

Reiji: “Give in to temptation.”
Ai: “My promise to you.”
Ranmaru: “I rock you hard.”
Camus: “With my deep emotion.”

I gave in to temptation (damn) and watched Uta no☆Prince-sama♪ Maji Love 2000%. And they surely did what they said. Please read my review for the first season if you have not read it yet.

The plot continues from the previous series where Haruka Nanami and ST☆RISH – composing of Tokiya Ichinose, Otoya Ittoki, Masato Hijirikawa, Ren Jinguji, Syo Kurusu and Natsuki Shinomiya – have now become professionals after their successful debut, and must now win the prestigious ‘UtaPri’ award in order to be recognised as true idols. It isn’t going to be easy though, because first of all, they have to train with their new senpais in the Master Course! Plus with the addition of Cecil Aijima, a new and formidable rival for Haruka’s affections appears! This plot was rather lighthearted and simple like the first season, but that is what’s needed in anime nowadays; not too OTT or underrated. However there was indeed more plot in comparison. As like before, the episodes were separated so each one focused on one particular character or the entire group. The way this was carried out was particularly good, as we viewers get to know each individual more and each episode connects to the other to form one, fluid plot. On the downside, the predictability was quite obvious and there was not much tension or suspense in the build-up to the final challenge: rival group, HE★VENS vs ST☆RISH. At this point, we all knew who was going to win. What made up for all of this was possibly the comedy. Humourous scenes were executed well one after the other, and constantly made me laugh non-stop; the jokes and comedy was similar to Ouran High School Host Club.

Animation was pretty much the same as the first season – none of the characters have had any significant changes so it’s all good. The animation maintained its usual splendor and elegance we all loved from season 1, and our ST☆RISH boys haven’t changed a bit! Backgrounds weren’t as visually stunning, but they were still appealing to look at (perhaps stare if they boys were there…) and the buildings looked grand as they should. Architecture is important in anime after all otherwise, where would all the characters live?! xD

TokiyaTokiya, you know you’re my favourite right?

Character development is something I have difficulty reviewing with this series. Haruka may have been the driving force behind ST☆RISH, but it was the guys who pulled through and had the most contribution to this series – I am NOT saying this out of favouritism. With the addition of Cecil into the group, he also brought along the flair and conflict needed… I say conflict because, he is a love rival after all! There is also the senpais from QUARTET★NIGHT: Reiji Kotobuki, Ranmaru Kurosaki, Ai Mikaze and Camus who act as mentors. Admittedly the senpais didn’t really help with ST☆RISH’s progression and development, they were just there for the sake of it and barely interacted with each other let alone ST☆RISH. The only one who made the most effort was Reiji, with the last three slowly warming up to them towards the end of the series. There was also the introduction of rival idol group and favourite to win the UtaPri award, HE★VENS, consisting of Eichi Otori, Kira Sumeragi and Nagi Mikado. Although they acted as the antagonists for ST☆RISH, they just seemed like a bunch of pretty faces thrown in for more fanservice. I really hoped QUARTET★NIGHT and HE★VENS would get more screentime and development, but sadly this wasn’t done.

HEAVENSThat was a… fiery performance?

Being a series about music, it’s fairly obvious that the music had to be… well, amazing. The composition this time round was perhaps even better than the first season, and when left in the hands of Elements Garden – a famous group of Japanese music composers – you get a whole horde of fantastic tunes. The opening theme song Kanon – sung by none other than Mamoru Miyano – features more guitar and piano than the first season opening (Orpheus), and was leaning more towards rock. Nonetheless, it was still a great song to listen to. However the animated sequence left me going “what the actual…?” at certain points: at one stage, Haruka and the ST☆RISH boys fly around underwater covered in sparkly stuff… and then Haruka leaps out the water NAKED. Was that really necessary? Insert songs were actually much better than the ones in season 1. Some may argue with me, but it is my honest opinion. I view it this way because the songs suited the characters more, and reflected their personalities properly. The BGM remained the same as the first season; always matching the mood and atmosphere of the situation. Finally, the cast ensemble is brilliant. Their voices portray the characters well and make them come to life – they really make them their own characters, so it’s no wonder the seiyuus are fond of them!

If you watched and enjoyed the first season, then it’s almost a given that you’ll enjoy the second season too! Sequels are notoriously known for not living up to its predecessor’s standards, but surprisingly, Uta no☆Prince-sama♪ Maji Love 2000% has managed to exceed the greatness of Maji Love 1000%! UtaPri is a series for everyone and is not just limited to females… males can enjoy this too! I thoroughly enjoyed myself, and I’m hoping that there will be a season three… because that ending is illegal.

Nisenpaa (Hey!) Saikoo na LOVE (Get you!)
Kimi to dake (Jump!) Yes! Happy PULSE (Syun! Syun!)
Kakumei STARLIGHT
Maji de suki da yo (Yes, we love you)
Eien ni…
Zenryoku zenkai de nisenpaa kimi no koto wo Love you
Ba, Bang! Ja, Jan!! Love you☆

NB: We all knew from the beginning that I am biased towards Mamoru Miyano… so Tokiya is obviously my favourite! He’s just too ASDFGHJKL; I can’t ignore him (ノ◕ヮ◕)ノ*:・゚✧.

Leave a Reply

